Chicken Cordon Blue Casserole

Standard

Aldi Sales. March 27 ~ April 2

(See all Special Deals HERE)

Pardon my small break from Aldi posts.

Ham ~ Prices range from 99¢ – $1.49 per lb.

Turkey ~  $1.19 per lb.

*EGGS ~ 99¢ each!   Crescent Rolls ~ 99¢ each. Cream Cheese ~ 99¢ each.

BUTTER ~ $1.99 each.

Jumbo Buttermilk Biscuits or Jumbo Flaky Biscuits ~ $1.29 for 16 oz. container.

Asparagus ~ $1.49 for 16 oz. pkg. Carrots ~ 49¢ fpr 16 oz. pkg. Green Peppers ~ 3 pack for 99¢.

Oranges ~ $1.49 for 4 lb. bag. Pineapple ~ $1.49 each.

Chunky Applesauce, Peach or Strawberry ~ $1.69 each.

Puffed Corn, Butter or Cheese  Flavor ~ $1.29 for 8 oz. bag. Time to make Caramel Puffs??! Yep!

A friend from college used to make this for us all the time. It was our “fancy” dinner. She never ever EVER measured anything and everything always came out so yummy. I treasure my “recipes” from her.

With Easter ham dinner coming up, you MAY be in need for a way to use some leftover ham up. So I thought I should share!  Hope you guys enjoy.

food 951

Chicken Cordon Blue Casserole

1 1/2 – 2 c. leftover cooked ham
1 1/2 – 2 c. leftover cooked chicken or turkey
2 TB. butter
2 TB. flour
1/2 tsp. chicken bouillon granules
dash of pepper
1/2 c. water
1/2 c. milk
1 1/2 c.  cheese (can use Monterey Jack, cheddar, Swiss ~WHATEVER)
box of stuffing mix (maybe 6 oz.?? the add hot water kind)
1/2 c. cheddar cheese (opt.) for topping

Prepare the stuffing according to box directions.

Melt butter, add flour, chicken bouillon and pepper. Whisk till smooth. Slowly add the water and milk and heat till thickened.

Put the ham and chicken or turkey in a 9″ x 13″ pan (greased) ~ or you can use a smaller pan. Pour the sauce over (if using canned cream soup, then thin with a splash of milk). Top with cheese. Top with prepared stuffing. Sprinkle with extra cheese, just cause.

Bake @ 350° for about 40-50 minutes till heated through and top is a bit browned. Serve and enjoy.

(I usually serve with mashed potatoes and a vegetable.)

Thanks Jess for the recipe.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Uncle Paul wants to fill up the grill with chicken tonite and he gave me lots of ideas of what to do with the extra—-He doesn’t even know about this!!!I am planning making this cass. on Monday!!and I might just go outside the box and make t=your green bean cass for Easter!!! Thanks !!!!!

    • YAY!!! Grilling time is here. I am HORRIFIC at the grill, but my husband enjoys it JUST like Uncle Paul! 🙂 I hope you enjoy the Cordon Blue Casserole! (You will have to let me know WHAT you decided about the green bean casserole!)

Leave a Reply

