Honey – Bran English Muffins

Standard

food 929

English muffins  are pretty versatile ~ Toast them and top with whatever you like, or make into an egg sandwich, use it for a mini pizza crust, or just toast,  butter and eat. That being said we like them here, so imagine my silly excitement when this recipe was tried! and enjoyed!  Something to be made over and over THAT is for sure! Don’t be intimidated PLEASE, they were easy.  IF you have any questions, never hesitate! You ALL should know that I do so LOVE hearing from you! 🙂

*Want the “nooks and crannies” effect? Then split them open with a fork and not a knife.

* You can make your own oat bran by processing Old Fashioned Oats ~ process till just above a powder.

Honey – Bran English Muffins 

1 1/4 c. warm water
3 TB. honey
2 TB. butter
3 c. bread flour
3/4 c. wheat bran
1/2 tsp. salt
3 tsp. yeast
1 1/2 TB. oat bran (can use wheat bran), for topping

Layer ingredients in your bread machine in the order listed. (Or hand kneading directions at bottom of recipe.) Set to dough cycle.

Sprinkle baking sheet with 3/4 TB (ish) of the oat bran. Set aside.

When the dough cycle in complete, turn dough out onto counter and divide into 12. Shape each piece into a ball. Press in to 4″ circle about 3/4″ tall.  Place on prepared baking sheet. Spritz a bit with water and top with the rest of the oat bran. Cover with greased plastic wrap and let rise, in a warm place,  till JUST doubled(any bigger then that and they will be kinda hard to get off the pan and onto the griddle/skillet). (This will not take much longer then half an hour or so.)

Heat your electric skillet (I actually use my griddle) to 325°.

You will be “dry frying” the dough. Meaning you do not need to grease the skillet/pan. PREFERABLY use a non-stick, or at least that is what I use and  I have no problems with the dough sticking.

Place risen dough carefully on skillet or griddle and for about 4-6 minutes per side, or until golden brown.

Yield 12.

Enjoy.

(Directions for mixing/kneading my hand.) Combine the yeast and warm water, let set for 5 minutes, till nice and foamy.  Add the butter, honey, salt, wheat bran and flour (1 c. at a time) ~ stirring to combine. When it gets to hard to stir by hand, dump onto the counter and knead the rest in, then knead for about  6-8 minutes. Put dough in a bowl, covered, and let rise (in a warm place) for about 45 minutes. When risen, proceed on with recipe above.

Recipe from the Bread Electric Cookbook.

food 930

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

11 responses »

    • Yep, you can find wheat and oat bran in the cereal aisle. The oat bran I usually buy is buy Quaker. The wheat bran I have is from Shipshewana (not a quick trip or anything 😉 BUT that kinda stuff is a bit cheaper there, I think.) THANKS. Let me know if you try it!! 🙂

  1. Bobbi!! Now I have such a back log of favorite family foods recipes that I need to try!!!!!!!!this looks delicious!!! Did you melt butter in the electric frying pan???

    • OH!!! FUN! Thanks! This recipe needs to go to the front of your “to try” pile! (IF it sounds interesting to you!) It is really good! No, you “dry fry” it ~ meaning you cook it in your skillet or griddle without greasing it. (My griddle is nonstick.) I see no harm in spraying your skillet with cooking spray if you are nervous ~ though I have never had a problem with it sticking and have made this recipe a number of times. AS ALWAYS and to EVERYONE……. PLEASE let me know if you try this or any recipe!!! I enjoy hearing your opinions!! 🙂

      • I have updated the recipe with the “dry fry” details!! SORRY to leave that out!!!! :/ It IS rather important!! THANKS!

  2. Oh those look really good. We’ve been on a bit of an english muffin kick so we should definitely give these a whirl!

    • OH, HI John!! 🙂 I knew you would enjoy this recipe!!!! Really?? Will you try them??? I want to hear all about it if you do!!!! Seriously. Fun.

  3. Oh my Bobbi …Really? I did not know about these but they look Fabulous!! I will be making these very very soon and dad will be very happy! You could post the dish you were making today sometime, I would like to make that too 🙂 thanks!

    • Really. 🙂 Sorry, I did not mean to keep you in the dark about these yummies! I do so hope you make and ENJOY!! I WILL be posting that dish, it is even better cooked! 😉 Thank YOU.

  4. Beautiful english muffins! Will have to try these, maybe tomorrow….or later this week, I have NOTHING going on, which I am looking forward to 🙂 Anywho, was wondering if you have any go-to coffee cakes I don’t know about or new ones you’ve made. I know you make a lot for Sunday mornings but havn’t seen any posted…at least not that I remember, havn’t looked in your index if I missed any though.

    • THANKS! I hope you do get a chance to try them!!! BE sure to let me know how it goes! 🙂 Yes, coffee cake. I have about 4-5 recipes typed out ready to share. Looks like I need to get on that! Thanks for the request I will try to get one posted by this weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

