Mint Chocolate Puppy Chow

Standard

Mint + Chocolate = my favorite flavor combination. I have tried my whole life to pick a DIFFERENT ice cream flavor, not Mint Chocolate Chip. I usually fail and go right back to my good ol’ faithful favorite. Mint and Chocolate. SO when I saw the original recipe here I wanted to try it. The ingredients were not all in my pantry, oh why does it fail me so when I need it?!?!? No fear, my freezer came through. I had these….

food 968

could it work???

It should…

It did.

OK. So I know that this might sound Christmasy and all, make it then AND make it now?!?!? These candies can be found easily around Christmas-time, too bad I didn’t buy more! I am thinking that any mint chocolate would work, let me know if you try a different kind of mint chocolate.

I wonder if this sounds good to you??? Let me know if you try it!!  It is a for sure favorite around here. (NOTE~ it will NOT take the place of the Chocolate Peanut Butter Puppy Chow, peanut butter and chocolate is another fab.u.lous combination, this is just a wonderful variation!!)

food 970

Mint Chocolate Puppy Chow 

1 c. Andes Creme de Menthe Baking pieces
1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (tho milk chocolate should work too)
6 c. Corn Chex (can use a bit more if you want too…..IF you want too)
1 c. powdered sugar (another 1/2 c. more if needed)

Melt the candy pieces and chocolate chips. Do this in a double boiler or SLOWLY and carefully in the microwave, stirring every 30-45 seconds.

Put the cereal in a mixing bowl, one that has a lid, and pour the chocolate yummy-ness over top and stir to coat. OK, so you can add more cereal if you want too…… I like each piece to be nicely coated in chocolate. (Though my picture begs to differ, look at those nearly naked cereal pieces!!! OOPS!)

Pour the powdered sugar over, cover with lid. Have fun and shake shake shake…shake. Let set a minute  before you open or you will be in a powdered sugar cloud. CAREFULLY open the lid and check to see if each piece in coated in powdered sugar.  If not add more and shake again.

Do not cover till chocolate is totally cooled and dry, or it could get stale tasting.

Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from Shugary Sweets. PLEASE check out her pictures, they will make your mouth water and maybe you HAVE the chocolate she uses!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Crafting & cooking for co-workers | Life After School

Leave a Reply

