Homemade Coffee Cream & Ham and Cheese Roll-Ups

Standard

food 904

Silly me to share a coffee cream recipe, as I am not a HUGE coffee fan. But my husband is and he likes cream in his coffee. I ran out one day. Not a bit deal, really, BUT I wanted to have it for him. So I made this. It was good. I actually have had a few cups of coffee so I could have the cream. OK, so, my coffee may be more cream than coffee, but whatever……I am OK with that. You drink yours how you like it and I will drink mine how I like it (mine will just get colder faster….).

Go to Cookin’ with Super Pickle to find a nice selection of different Homemade Coffee Cream Recipes. Let me know what you try!!! I would love to hear about it!!! The ones that look good to me are ~ Caramel Vanilla, Peppermint Mocha (of COURSE) and Salted Caramel Mocha.

I followed the base recipe found here and followed the “Vanilla” Flavor idea. (I did skip the 1 tsp. xanthan gum, however.)  I used skim milk  and I added a vanilla bean (scraped the lovely inside out 1st. The vanilla bean startled my husband when it poured out into his coffee…….funny.) along with the vanilla extract.

I will make this again and again. Let me know what you think about Homemade Coffee Cream. Have you made it before? You will try it sometime?? Will it turn YOU into a coffee drinker???? Did you like it if you made it????

Enjoy!!!

Now for a Lunch Box Recipe or a Lunch At Home Recipe or a Simple Dinner Recipe.

food 903

*If your kids are picky (most of mine are) then leave the red peppers off theirs. I usually don’t have salami in the house, so I leave that off. I have also used turkey in place of the ham with GREAT results.  SO, add and take away as your family’s tastes allow!

* IF your tortillas are hard (as in….not super duper fresh) then wrap in a paper towel or plastic wrap and warm slightly in the microwave, it will make rolling MUCH easier!

*As far as a “dipper” goes ~ salsa would work as well! Or ranch dressing or whatever type of sauce your family enjoys.

Ham & Cheese Roll-Ups 

2 TB. olive oil, divided
4 (10″) flour tortillas
1/2 c. fresh grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 lb. thinly sliced deli ham
1/4 lb. thinly sliced Provolone cheese
1/4 lb. thinly sliced hard salami
1/2 c. roasted sweet red peppers, drained and cut up
1 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
a good sprinkle of oregano or Italian seasoning
pizza sauce for dipping

Brush 1 TB. of the olive oil on one side of all 4 tortillas. Sprinkle with 1/4 c. of Parmesan cheese. Layer the ham, provolone cheese, salami, red peppers and mozzarella cheese evenly over the tortillas. Sprinkle with seasoning.  Fold in the  sides of tortillas and roll up carefully.

Place, seam side down, on baking sheet. Brush tortillas with remaining olive oil and sprinkle with 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese and a shake of seasoning. Bake @ 425° for 9-12 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with pizza sauce.

Serves 4.

Recipe from a Taste of Home magazine.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for these Bobbi! I love my coffee and I happened to fun out of creamer. I can handle without but Kurt will need some 🙂 Also need a quick easy dinner. Yippie!

  2. I love this recipe! I made them last week and they were a great success! I have fixin’s to make them again tonight or tomorrow night. Dad enjoyed them in his lunch the next day…big bonus!! The sauce we liked was just ranch dressing SEVERAL liberal shakes of hot sauce. YUM YUm!! thanks , Bobbi:)

  3. I have ham in my house, this just might be mine and Ree’s lunch for today. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Also, coffee creamer, never thought of making it myself, will have to try this sometime, some fun flavors to make!

  4. I made the ham and chees roll ups on Sunday and they were awesome!!!! Leftovers for lunch and they reheated nicely. We actually used marinara suace for dipping because that was what I had–really good!! Julie Sitter sent me your blog and am I glad that she did!!!

    • Oh HI!!! SO glad you are reading!!!! THANKS!!!! 🙂 Thanks to Julie for sharing as well!!! I am glad you enjoyed the Roll-Ups!!!! They are pretty popular over here too! THANK you so much for reading and commenting!!!!! 🙂

  5. These roll-ups ar so delicious!! My kids thought they were great, too. Nice to have something different for lunch especially during summer vacation. I used cheddar and mozzarella b/c I always have those in the house. Could do any number of combinations with the cheese or meat-that’s what’s so great about these types of recipes 🙂 We dipped in salsa but ranch was ok, too! Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

