Crock Pot Beef Enchiladas

Standard

food 863

I really enjoy using my crock pot, do you? I find it very helpful, usually there is more time in the daytime hours to throw dinner together then in the afternoon hours. So I really enjoy recipes that can be thrown together in the morning and either start cooking in the crock pot or chill in the fridge till I am ready to put it in the oven. I will say nothing more about this recipe EXCEPT to quote 2 of my kiddos and they preciousness-es that they said while eating this dinner.

Quote # 1.   ~  “Mom, if you were a baker in a contest and you  made this  and I was the  judge,  you would be the winner.” *Tears from mother. Sweetness that melts my heart.*

Quote # 2.   ~  “I pick this as my birthday dinner.” Well……..honey, that is now ABOUT 7 dinners you have picked  for your birthday dinner, looks like we may need to narrow some things down……

I saw this recipe idea in a Taste of Home Magazine, I thought “Really, will this work? Will you see the tortilla layers? Will I be able to lift it out of the crock pot? Will the kids like it as much as they like oven cooked enchiladas? Will. it. work? Will. it. be. good????”

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes.

I hope your family enjoys as well!

*My family is not keen on black beans or pinto beans, but if your family IS then feel free to add a can (rinsed and drained) in with the meat layer (plus it will stretch the meat layer a bit further as well!).

* This serves 4. It was just the right amount to feed my family (2 adults, 4 kids). Though in a few years I KNOW it will not be enough! I think you should be able to make more of the meat sauce (a batch and a half) and add a few more tortillas without a problem IF you need to stretch it a bit further!

* IF you do not have a round crock pot that will fit tortillas, that is fine, just tear your tortillas to fit in your crock pot. Try to use 1 torn up tortilla per layer.

* I lined my crock pot with heavy-duty foil, I wanted to see if I could lift it out and to see what it would look like. IF you do not want to do this, then just be sure to grease your crock pot WELL and serve straight out of the crock pot with a serving spoon. That will work just fine as well!

* Rotel Tomatoes have heat to them, as well as some chili powders. We are a family who enjoys heat but IF your family does not, then maybe skip the hot sauce or just try a drop or two.

* The meat layer IS not very thick (hardly covering the tortilla under it), this is so the enchiladas STAY is a stack. I generally left the edges of the tortillas without any meat sauce, so as it would not ooze over.

food 858

Crock Pot Beef Enchiladas 

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 a large onion, chopped
1/2 a green or red pepper, chopped
1 can (10 oz.) Rotel Tomatoes (tomatoes with green chilies in them)
1/2 c. salsa
1/2 c. black olives, sliced
1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
3 drops of hot pepper sauce
6 medium flour tortillas
2 c.  shredded cheddar cheese
toppings for tacos (like sour cream, lettuce, tomato…etc.)

Brown the ground beef with the onion and pepper. Drain. Add the undrained tomatoes, salsa, black olives, chili powder, salt, pepper and hot sauce to the ground beef mixture. Simmer about 5 minutes. Just to meld flavors a bit.

Line your crock pot heavy-duty foil and grease the foil well. Time to layer! Start with 2 scoops of meat sauce in the bottom of the crock pot, then tortilla, then more meat sauce (I generally did about 2 scoops per layer, try to judge how much meat sauce you have to tortillas left ~ you will END with a tortilla.) Then a sprinkle of cheese, tortilla, sauce, cheese, repeat. End with tortilla on top sprinkled with some cheese.

Cover your crock pot and cook on low for about 6 hours. Lift out by the foil and set on your serving platter, I cut off the foil that I could get at. Serve with the taco toppings your family enjoy, and ENJOY!!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home Magazine.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Very interesting Bobbi, who would have thought enchiladas in the crock pot!! I wonder if you could mash the black beans like you do for the cupcakes and “hide” them in the meat..what do you think?

    • I THINK that is a fabulous idea!!!!! THANKS!!!! (Actually, re-fried beans or mashed black beans WOULD be a nice addition to one or two of the layers!!!)

  2. Can’t wait to try this- looks yummy and pretty easy. I like that you mention it is kid-approved, since my kids are around the same ages this helps me decide if I should try or not. Keep up the great recipes:)

Leave a Reply

