Flourless Chocolate Cake

Standard

food 908

Need a gluten – free cake for this weekend?? Hummm….need a wonderfully rich delicious cake for this weekend?? EITHER was give this “cake” a try.

I say “cake” BECAUSE it. is. nothing. like a cake. Really, I challenge you to take a bite AND NOT try to figure out what it reminds you of. Impossible. It reminds me of fudge. No, no. I ment it reminds me of cheesecake. Oh, wait, I ment fudge. How about cheesecakey fudge??? Yum.

This is insanely rich. A small slice will do you. Serve with whipped cream and fresh berries. Did I mention you can enjoy this EVEN if you are not gluten – free. FACT. I know.

food 906

Flourless Chocolate Cake    

8 oz. unsweetened chocolate squares (found in the baking isle)
4 oz. semi – sweet chocolate
1 1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. water
1 c. butter
5 eggs

Butter a 9″ round cake pan with butter and line the bottom with parchment paper (I actually used wax paper and it was fine).

Chop the chocolate up a bit and place in a food processor or blender (if using a blender you may need to process the chocolate in a few batches). Process till finely chopped, teeny tiny pieces.

Bring the water to a boil and add the sugar, stir to dissolve sugar. Slowly pour into the food processor, with it running. Next add the butter, 2 TB. at a time (still with processor running). Next, add the eggs 1 @ a time. (Yep, processor running…..) Process till well blended.

Pour into prepared pan. Place pan in a large roasting pan and pour hot water (carefully) around the 9″ pan, till about 1/2 way up the side of 9″ pan. Carefully put in oven (better YET, put pans IN oven and pull rack out and pour water in. No chance of water getting in your cake).

Bake @ 350° for 25-30 minutes.

When the cake was cool, I sprinkled with powdered sugar. Very optional. It just dressed it up a bit.

Serves about 16, at least. Seriously rich.

Thanks Aunt Sher for sharing, she clipped this out of a magazine a few years ago.

That is all I have for gluten – free recipe so far. I have a few more recipes in mind that I hope to share as well. How about YOU? Do you have any gluten-free recipes that use average pantry staples. If you do and want to share, send it to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com. Or include it in the comment section or “Readers” Page.

THANKS and have a GREAT weekend!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. I’ll bet the gluten-free chocolate lovers out there are really excited about this recipe! I would love to taste it sometime.

  2. I have a gluten free flourless chocolate cake recipe that is slightly different. You don’t bake it with water or anything. It is also very rich but very good. Most people find out that just because something is gluten- free doesn’t mean it has to be taste free:)

Leave a Reply

