Wheat Free Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes

Standard

I am very thankful that no one in my family has any dietary restrictions. Though, I know that there are so many families THAT do have to watch what they eat. Whether it be a peanut allergy, lactose intolerant, diabetes, high cholesterol or wheat free/gluten-free ~ these restrictions are out there plus many more.

There may be a time when you are entertaining and one or more of your guests have a diet restriction that you may need to be aware of and cook/bake for. I wanted to have a section on my blog where you can go to if you need some ideas. I am going to focus right now on wheat free/gluten-free foods. Just a few, really. I am not a pro, I really know NOTHING about it. Just that I wanted to have a few recipes in my files IF the need arises and I need them!

I wanted to use ingredients that are generally found in all of our pantries. There are gluten-free flours and other options available, but for those of us who do not have gluten-free family members we don’t generally have those items in our pantries.  So I wanted to focus on recipes that have ingredients we already might have.

That being said. In the future IF I happen to share a recipe that is gluten-free and I don’t realize it ~ please let me know! I will add a notation in the Recipe Index that the recipe is “Gluten Free”. ALSO, if  I claim a recipe is Gluten Free and it. is. not. Again, let me know!!! Like I said, I am not all that smart in all things gluten-free.

This recipe I am sharing today was a hit with my family. No one questioned as to what was in it. They all enjoyed it. There is a rather unique ingredient in it. I know that IF my kids would watch me put it in their cupcakes, they would not eat it! So, make sure to make these when no one is watching. Much like the Orange Carrot Pineapple Smoothies ~ once they see an interesting ingredient in it, they might not want to eat it.

These cupcakes are the opposite of dry. Frost and decorate as you would a regular cupcake, I know some of you are very gifted in cupcake/cake decorating. Opposite of my simplistic approaches.

PLEASE let me know IF these seem interesting to you and ESPECIALLY let me know it you try them, I am very curious as to others opinions! THANKS!

food 903

Wheat Free Gluten-Free Cupcakes

 (Yeild about 16 cupcakes)

15 oz. can of black beans, rinsed and drained
5 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. salt
6 TB. cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 c. honey
1 stick of butter
1/2 c. chocolate chips

In a food processor or blender, blend the black beans, 3 eggs and vanilla till smooth. Add the salt, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, honey and butter (cut into 2 TB. pieces). Blend again till smooth.  Add the last 2 eggs and blend till smooth.

Line cupcake pans with cupcake liners.  Fill about 2/3 full with batter. Sprinkle tops with chocolate chips (don’t fold in BECAUSE they will sink to the bottom). Bake @ 325° for 17-20 minutes. (Check at 17, mine baked in about 18 minutes.)

Cool. Frost.

Frosting  (Or use your favorite frosting recipe.)

1/4 c. butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla
2 TB. milk
pinch of salt
2-4 c. powdered sugar

Beat the butter about 1 minute. Add the vanilla and milk, beat just till combined. Add 1 c. powdered sugar, beat, add 1 more cup. Beat till fluffy, may need to add more powdered sugar to get the correct frosting consistency. Frost. I have decorated with mini chocolate chips or Hershey Kisses, you can decorate HOWEVER you want to!

Yield about 16 cupcakes.

Recipe from The Marathon Mom ~ with just a few changes in ingredients.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

    • No, the cake recipe is different. I will be sharing that recipe later this week :). These are actually the cupcakes the kids ate. I think they all enjoyed (or did they go home and say “Auntie Bobbi’s cupcakes were gross!?!??! 😉 )

  1. GET OUT OF HERE!!! Those cupcakes you gave me had BLACK BEANS in them! I never would have guessed and neither did those in my family who ate them!!! I’m going to check my cupboard for a can of black beans and make them today! 🙂

    • Now you see WHY I did not want to say out-loud what the main ingredient was?!?! Kinda cool, I thought. I hope you had black beans…… 🙂

  2. wow, what an interesting recipe. ive never tried using black beans in my baking but im sure they’re much more healthy than flour, i will definitely try this. they look spectacular

    • Thanks and I hope you do try it!!! It was interesting to me as well, that is why I tried out and I am GLAD I did!! 🙂 Let me know if you give it a whirl!Thanks a LOT for reading and thanks a LOT for commenting!!!

  3. Hey Bobbi- I will def. try this recipe. It looks great, I know I have a brownie recipe that is Gluten free that uses black beans too, I just have not made it yet. Doesn’t make you feel bad about eating sweets when it has that much fiber!

    • Cannot wait to hear if it is a hit in your house if you make it! 🙂 I am VERY interested in the brownie recipe, sounds interesting! Now that I know that black beans in cupcakes are good, why not try then in brownies?! If you want to e-mail it to me, I can try it….. just an idea! 🙂

    • You are welcome and PLEASE let me know IF you do try them, I am really interesting to know what others think about these cupcakes!!! THANKS!!! 🙂

  4. I made the cupcakes and everyone liked them a lot. I would make again. I did notice they seem less dense (more airy) than a traditional cupcake made with flour. Did you notice that?

    • YEP, I totally agree with you about them seeming less dense. PLUS they are the opposite from dry, as some “flour” cupcakes can be dry. Even though we can eat flour without issues here, this is a cupcake that I will be making again and again. I am glad you tried it and really happy you all enjoyed it!!!

  5. A family in our church makes those no-bake cookies that is usually oatmeal and chocolate, etc. but they used black beans in it. I’ve tried them…consistency is a little different, but if I hadn’t known about the beans I probably wouldn’t know the difference. Amazing what you can substitute in baked goods.

    • THOSE cookies sound really interesting!!! WE do eat with our eyes (and our ears ~ when we HEAR what is in things) when we see WHAT goes in things. IT might actually make us not like something we might otherwise like. We pre-judge. I AM SO VERY GUILTY of that as far as “unique” recipes go. (THAT is why I make these when the kids are busy……. 😉 IF they some me make them, I really doubt they would eat them!!!)

Leave a Reply

