Peanut Butter Gram-Wiches

Standard

“Can I have a snack please?”

 “I am hungry, is it snack time?”

 “Did I hear you say we can have a snack??”

“* Crinkle crinkle crinkle (sound of a bag being opened)* *me* What are you doing??? *child* “I am so hungry……” (Said with “weakness” of body even though lunch was like was 1.5 hours ago…….)

Does this sound familiar to you???? My kids ask for snacks no less than 16 times per day. They are growing boys I know, and I like my “morning” snack and “after- school” snack and “busy making dinner” snack and “avoiding the things I need to be doing” snack  so I do understand! BUT, I run out of ideas of what to give them! Something that is  filling enough to hold them over to the next meal…….

My friend shared this recipe with me and it has fast become a favorite around here, I have made it 3 times in about a week. It is filling enough to hold them over till dinner and really, actually pretty good for you too! Bonus!!!!

*** Update***
SO I realized that I followed the recipe wrong. Opps. My friend gets 20 ish sandwiches out of her 1/2 c. peanut butter and 1/2 c. vanilla yogurt mixture.  Tahee. I got 4. As you can see I go heavy!! That being said, please use as much or as little peanut butter as YOU want to on your sandwiches!! They will be fantabulous either way!!!!

food 904

Peanut Butter Gram-Wiches  

1/2 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. vanilla yogurt
4 ~ 20 graham crackers

Mix together the peanut butter and yogurt (a spoon works fine, it may look like it will not come together nicely BUT then all of a sudden you have a nice smooth mixture!!!)

Break the graham crackers in half so you have  squares. Put as much or as little  of the peanut butter yumminess on half the squares and top with the remaining squares. I took a knife to smooth out the edges nicely. Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze. (At least 4 hours so they are frozen through.)

Serve and enjoy.

Recipe from Melissa, thanks!!!!

Just for fun I rolled some of them in mini-chocolate chips.  Big hit.

This recipe linked to Six Sister’s Stuff.

food 905

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Really cool idea! I love easy, quick somewhat nutritious snack ideas. Best of all these are ingredients I normally have on hand:) Thanks, Bobbi!

    • That is one of the reasons I really enjoyed this recipe as well ~ peanut butter, vanilla yogurt and graham crackers are all staples here as well!!! 🙂 Let me know if you guys enjoy!

  2. Oh my…I was literally Laughing Out Loud when I saw your pics!! My “gram-wiches” were probably 1/4 of the size yours are!! 🙂 These look much better than mine. Will have to definitely make them a little more Bobbi-ish! Love the mini chips idea. I am going to whip some of these up for today’s after school snack. Another tip-best eaten straight from the freezer. you let these thaw out the crackers are pretty soggy.

    • Ha! You were laughing out loud?!?!!? I just laughed and snorted a little bit. I TOTALLY mis-read your recipe…..tahee….. my true dippy-ness came out! I read 2-3 “sandwiches” , though it CLEARLY says 23 “sandwiches”. I am sorry. I will have to try it your way, though, maybe I will make 12 gram-wiches cause I really like the filling and so do my kids!!!! Wonder what your kids will think…..IF they get overwhelmed by it, sorry. If I give my kids smaller ones they will be like “where’s all the filling??”

      • 🙂 🙂 The beauty of this recipe is it is so versatile. I made them this morning and did closer to 3/4 cup each pb & yogurt. AND…I made them with more filling. AND…I used chocolate graham cracker-cannot wait to hear the reviews from the kids on those!! Also, what they will think of the at least double filling. I think I came out with a/b 8 sandwiches. I have to admit my previous attempts were a bit dry, but my kids love to eat the grahams plain so they probably thought, “cool, Mom let us eat something ON our crackers!” Thanks for making me laugh!! And I love the name you put to this recipe-very creative. That is why you are the food queen and NOT me :)!

  3. Good idea Bobbi! We made microwave smores today for after school snack and they were a hit. I’ll try your recipe tomorrow! 🙂 You can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate. My fav!

Leave a Reply

