Carrot Cake Oatmeal

Standard

Maybe I shouldn’t post today. I feel a bit slouch-ish about it. I want to, but does it really matter? There are so very many blogs out there. Is anyone reading besides my mom, my aunt and a few friends???

I started this blog as a way to share, share chats, share laughs, share memories, share recipes, share good time. I wanted everyone involved. I STILL want everyone involved. I have had a blast. I have made some great friends and gotten closer to some others. I have learned a lot. I have made new memories. I thank you for letting me share, my thoughts, my memories, my collection and recipes. I will not call them “mine” cause a lot of times they have come from someplace else, with some minor changes.

The best thing about recipes and cooking are the memories that go hand in hand. We can sometimes remember where we were when we first ate something and needed the recipe. We can remember who gave it to us or we remember the time we messed a recipe up, and actually enjoyed that version better. We see the smiles from our family when they say “yum.” We remember. We learn. We share.

Now, I, can talk food for.ever. Sorry. It’s just fun for me. Thanks for reading, for sharing, for chatting. LET US remember that the “leave a comment” section should actually read ~ “your thoughts” or “let’s chat” or something like that. We would love to hear if you wrote down a recipe, or if is already a favorite of yours, maybe you tried it, maybe you liked it, maybe it was not your thing, maybe you changed it, maybe you have questions, maybe you have a story, maybe maybe maybe. 🙂

IF you ever think that others would enjoy a recipe that your family enjoys and you want to share it with others, share it here at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com. We can have a guest post or I can make it and snap my own pictures. Thanks to my friends who have shared recipes, know that I have made some, looking forward to sharing them and look forward to making some others! It takes me time to post sometimes as I do not post a recipe everyday….. Please remember to let me know where the recipe came from, I really like to give credit where credit is due! If you would rather remain anonymous then just let me know!!

OH, before I forget IF you are interested in an E-MAIL RECIPE EXCHANGE let me know!!!! (favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com). Thanks! This will be the last time I say it, don’t want to be annoying. Ha! 😉

food 903

This recipe today came from a friend, about a year ago she told me about it. I have since made it a number of times. My kids are not huge oatmeal fans. They will try it cause I made it…..but….inevitably they go back to the good ol’ Sugar Smacks or Mini Wheats. Fine, more for me (and my husband enjoys  it too.) So thanks Stacie for sharing this recipe with me. The original came from Allrecipes ~ I have made a few minor changes.

The oatmeal reheats beautifully. So no worries about leftovers. Don’t be nervous about the yogurt on top, that is my favorite part ~ well, and the crunchy sugary nuts……..

Carrot Cake Oatmeal 
4 c. water
1 c. steel-cut oats
1 (tart) apple, peeled and chopped
1/2 c. shredded carrot
1/2 c. raisins
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
2 TB. brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 TB. butter
3/4 c. pecans, walnuts or almonds
1 TB. brown sugar
vanilla yogurt

Bring the water to a boil. Add the steel-cut oats and bring back to a boil, simmer about 10 minutes. Add the apples, carrots, raisins, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, brown sugar and pinch of salt. Simmer about 20 more minutes. (REMEMBER to stir often!! or it will stick!)

Melt the butter in a small fry pan and add the pecans and sugar, toast carefully, as they will  burn quickly.

Serve the oatmeal with a dollop of yogurt on top and a sprinkle of candied nuts.

Serve. Enjoy. Be warm and full.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

    • Quick oats and steel-cut oats are about as opposite as they come! Quick oats are the quickest cooking oats while steel-cut take the LONGEST to cook. Steel-cut oats have a bit more texture to them, which is why I like them. I have made this oatmeal with quick-oats, by just cooking the oatmeal as directed on the package AND saute-ing up the apples, carrots, raisins, sugar, spices, and butter up a bit and combining it all together. HOWEVER, I prefer the steel-cut oats, they re-heat better, they are fantabulous for you. Hope I helped, with my very un-professional words. Let me know IF you try it!!! 🙂 Thanks!

  1. Going thru the “blahs” with your blog? Me too 😦 I’m not running out of ideas, but running out of time. And then, wondering how many people would really even miss it if I quit. Oh well, going to keep on keeping on and see where it takes me 🙂
    I, personally, enjoy your blog and DO read it. I tend to be on here once a week or so and read the most recent 3-4 recipes all at once. I have also enjoyed getting to know you through your blog and via email!
    My favorite memory tied to a recipe is the one I wrote about here:
    http://www.cookingupasale.blogspot.com/2012/07/grandmas-fresh-blueberry-pie.html

    • Glad to know you understand!!! Like you, I WILL NOT quit. I have realized that I really enjoy doing this, it is not a “chore” but a “hobby”, something that is fun for me and (hopefully) fun for others as well!!! I am not sure I will ever run out of things to share…..though some things may be what a lot of people ALREADY make and enjoy…..THAT is where I was hoping the “comment section” would become more of a “gab session”, you know? (we make this and enjoy, or we change this, etc.) AND THEN I turn around and today I have had a wonderful couple of fun comments!! Fun. Yep, I too have wondered if anyone would miss me if I quit posting……I would miss it. I will keep on going and enjoy and YOU keep on going too! Thanks for your encouraging words, thanks for reading my blog and commenting often. You know I enjoy your blog as well, keep it up!!! I remember reading your blueberry pie story and I so enjoyed it! Great smiles and great memories to cherish forever! Thanks again!

  2. Just wanna say that I appreciate your blog and the recipes you post. I also like your Aldi sale info. I always try to plan my meals around Aldi food so I don’t have to go to more than 1 store. I’ve been just rotating recipes that I’ve done before lately but you encourage me to try new ones. So thanks.

  3. Bobbi: I really enjoy your recipes.. Aunt Marce in California has commented to me on the
    email that she so enjoys reading them also… She says she feels closer to the family even
    tho she is so far away.. Looking forward to the next one
    Grandma

  4. Forgot about this recipe – thanks for the reminder! It’s funny, I rarely get comments on my blog (besides some of my biggest fans of course 🙂 but I get lots of ‘comments’ in-person saying they read my blog and have tried this or that….but they never comment. In fact, I ran into an old coworker a couple weeks ago at the mall who I havn’t seen since just after Regan was born and she mentioned how she still looks and enjoys my blog….I wanted to say, so why don’t you comment and tell me what you’ve made, enjoyed, but I held back. Maybe I should ocassionally give my readers an occasional push as you do to get them to comment 🙂

    • A little push never hurts 🙂 I really don’t think that people know just how fun it is for us to get “comments” ~ Really, I just always wonder WHO is reading and what anyone has tried…..you understand! Though, those “in person” comments are pretty cool too!!! Thanks for commenting 🙂 (I have had a number of people tell me that they read your blog…..that might be fun for you to know!!!)

  5. So I don’t think you have to question how much I appreciate this blog, but if you aren’t sure I’m so glad for all you share! And If it helps I have been faithfully watching and waiting for another recipe 🙂

    • I know you appreciate and I appreciate you. heehee. Thanks for being such a faithful reader/commenter/precious question asker. Love ya! Recipes coming soonly!!! Sorry for the absence!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

