Cherry Chocolate Chip Bars

Standard

Some Aldi Specials for Feb. 13 ~ 19.

(For a complete ad, click here.)

* Pineapple ~ $1.49 each.

* Strawberries ~ 99¢ per 16 oz. pkg. (A salad to try.)

* Oranges ~ $1.49 for 4-lb. bag.

* Lemons ~ 99¢ per 1 lb. bag.

* Cantaloupe ~ $1.49 each.

* Blueberries ~ $1.99 per pint. (A pie to try.)

* Tilapia ~ $3.49 for 16 oz. OR $5.49 for 32 oz. (A dish to try.)

* Salmon ~ $3.99 for 16 oz.

* Soy Sauce (Regular AND Low Sodium!!!) and Teriyaki Sauce ~ $1.19 each. (I have a number a recipes that use one or both of these sauces so I am so happy to see them at Aldi! Grab a bottle and keep your eye out for some recipes, sometime!!!) (A side to try.)

* Sweet and Sour Sauce ~ $1.99 for 15 oz. jar.

* Long Grain Rice ($1.79 for 3 lb.) and Instant Brown Rice ($1.49 for 14 oz.) (A rice dish to try, here and here.)

This recipe isn’t really related to the Aldi specials. BUT I wanted to share one more fun Valentine’s Day treat for you and your family!

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

IF I had a Valentine’s Day salt & pepper shaker I would be sharing a picture of that but….hummm…….nope. Sorry. Have a wonderful loving day with all those you love. 

food 857

Chocolate Covered Cherries are delicious but take some time to make, so here is a recipe (based slightly from this bar) that gives you the flavor of Chocolate Covered Cherries without all. the. work.

If you like cherry chocolate chip things, then these bars are for you. 🙂 Two members of my family are not keen on cherries….so obviously these bars are not for them. The rest of us could not seem to quit eating them……

Pretty and fun fun fun for Valentines Day!!

You may bake up a boxed brownie mix (follow the directions on the box) and use that in place of the Brownie Layer.

Cherry Chocolate Chip Bars  

Brownie Layer:
1/2 c. soft butter, or margarine
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt
3/4 c. flour
1/4 c. cocoa powder
Cherry Chocolate Chip Layer:  
1/2 c. butter, softened
1/2 tsp. almond extract
3-5 TB. maraschino cherry juice
pinch of salt
3 c. powdered sugar (start with 2 1/2, may need to use a bit more)
1/2 – 3/4 c. chopped maraschino cherries
1/2 c. mini – chocolate chips
Chocolate Deliciousness Topping:    
1 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I like semi-sweet)
1 TB. shortening

For the Brownie Layer ~ beat the butter and sugar till light and fluffy. Add the eggs, 1 @ a time. Add the vanilla. Beat just till smooth. Add the flour, cocoa and baking  powder. Pour this into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan and bake @ 350° for 17-20 minutes, till a toothpick comes out clean. COOL.

For the Cherry Chocolate Chip Layer ~ Beat the butter till fluffy. Add the extract and maraschino cherry juice and 1 c. powdered sugar. Beat till smooth, adding more powdered sugar till a frosting consistency. Fold in the chopped maraschino cherries and mini chocolate chips. (Taste…of course we NEED to do this for quality control, right???) IF there is any left….. Spread the lovely cherry….well….frosting on top of the cooled brownies.

Chocolate Deliciousness Layer ~ Melt the chocolate and shortening in a double boiler (or VERY carefully in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds till smooth). When this is all smooth and melty, spread this carefully over the cherry layer (don’t have it TOO hot or it WILL melt the cherry frosting). When chocolate is beginning to set, cut the bars, you may need to re-cut once the chocolate has completely hardened. Enjoy!!

(Bottom brownie layer recipe from Cassie,  frosting layer….I just thought it sounded like it would be good and I had cherries just begging to be used!)

(Oh, yeah…..try NOT to eat ALL of this before putting it on the bars…….)

food 853

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

5 responses »

  1. Delicious! Just wondered if your frosting was kinda hard and cracked when cut. No biggie-still tasted awesome!! Do you keep these in the fridge or just til they are chilled? I have mine out now hoping that would help the frosting problem. It was so fun having this special treat ready for my kids when they got home from school. Although, being Valentine’s Day, they already had plenty of sweets at school from teachers and friends that I probably should have done it on a different day. Sugar high yesterday!! 🙂

    • Do you mean the chocolate layer or the cherry frosting middle??? IF it is the choco layer, yes, chocolate topping will crack quickly IF you cut when too cold (sorry my recipe tells you too “chill to set” ~ I will go back and change that)…….I have had cracked chocolate a lot!! My “fix” is to cut it BEFORE it is too hard, just when it is starting to set up nicely. You will have to re-cut it when the chocolate is all the way set, but at least SOME of the hard cutting is done already and it shouldn’t crack as much, make sense? Also, adding the bit of shortening when melting the chocolate helps to keep the chocolate a little bit softer. IF you mean the cherry frosting layer, then maybe you had a bit too much powdered sugar, or not enough milk??? You want that layer to be just like the consistancy of frosting. No I do not keep these in the fridge, sorry for leaving that out…..I will add that note to the recipe, thanks!!! 🙂 Valentine’s Day usually ends up with lots of sugar filled kids over here too!!! Fun stuff! (I try (TRY) not to get too worked up about all the sugar….!)

      • Oops! Sorry i didn’t clarify-yes I mean the chocolate frosting. Thanks for the tips on cutting; that makes sense! If I remember right, you had some similar instructions in a different recipe a/b cutting (maybe your granola bars???) Either way, I GREATLY appreciate the tip and will remember for next time. Don’t feel you have to add all these specifics a/b refrigeration, etc…we should be able to figure these things out on our own!! 🙂 As for the cherry layer, if anything I would have added a bit more powdered sugar; I suppose it depends on how much cherry juice you use. Either way, they are on my counter and seem to be perfect. My kids don’t mind the mess at all!! AND…they like them even though there are cherries in them. yes, they are oh, so picky a/b their foods!

      • Glad the kids like! Frosting can be tricky at times, sometimes I have to add more powdered sugar, then more milk, then more powdered sugar and on and on…oh well, extra frosting is always fantabulous on graham crackers!!!

Leave a Reply

