Fried Rice

Standard

food 268

Fried Rice is fantastic, it works well as a side dish or you can even make this into a “one dish wonder” by browning up some chicken and adding it in! Add or take away veggies as your family prefers.  (That is why I said “optional” behind several ingredients.) PLEASE if you can get it, use low sodium soy sauce ~ it tastes great and WAY less sodium!

*It is best to use rice that has been chilled for a while, if you do not have leftover from a previous meal that is fine ~ just be sure to cook it earlier the day so it has time to get chilled.

Fried Rice 
couple TB’s  of oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 TB. soy sauce
1 tsp. sesame oil
1-2 chicken breasts, cut up small (opt.)
1/4 c. finely cut up carrot (opt.)
1/4 c. finely cut up green pepper (opt.)
1/4 c. finely chopped onion (opt.)
1/4 c. finely chopped up celery (opt.)
2 eggs
2 c. LEFTOVER rice
1 c. or so of frozen peas
1/4 c. soy sauce

Heat the oil in a wok ~ if you have one. I do not so I use a large fry pan. Add the garlic and saute just a bit. Then add your chicken or your veggies, the 2 TB. soy sauce and 1 tsp. sesame oil. Cook till chicken is done and/or veggies are crisp tender. (I cook the veggies 1st, take out and then cook the chicken.) Take out and set aside meat/veggies.

Scramble up the eggs, put in pan and cook and chop up till cooked through. Add the chicken and/or veggies, the leftover rice and peas. Add the 1/4 c. soy sauce. Stir. Flatten out nicely, cook and flip parts over and press down and cook and flip….this will give you some nice crispy parts. Now it is done and you can add chives to the tip for a lovely garnish.

Thanks Sarah for the recipe and “teaching” me how to make fried rice, we LOVE it!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

7 responses »

  1. Sesame oil Bobbi? how oriental of you!:) That is another item I have never bought but I suppose it DOES make a difference in the dish, huh?

    • Yes, I KNOW!!! Look at me being all “oriental” ~ must have learned it from you. Tahheheeheeee……. I have a few recipes that use it so I do always have it in the house, it tastes just like oil made from sesame seeds….makes sense. You can try some of mine sometimes IF you want too……and yes, it DOES make a difference. 🙂

  2. I’m very excited to try this, Bobbi! Sam loves the chicken, but I’m a sucker for the shrimp.. I’m going to attempt to make it with that also. I’ll let you know how it all turns out! Thanks for sharing!

    • Yeah, please let me know how it goes with shrimp! I myself do not enjoy shrimp but my husband does! I should try it for him!! Thanks for reading and commenting!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

