“I Love You” Cookies

Standard

(Want to be part of an e-mail recipe exchange?? Send an  e-mail  to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com and we will include YOU too! Should be a good time of recipe sharing and collecting! Thanks!)

food 904

Happy Birthday. Merry Christmas. Happy Anniversary. Happy Valentines Day to ME. YEAH!!! I finally have a Wilton Cookie Press.  (THAT made it seem like it was expensive….IT IS NOT, I was just THAT excited to get one!!!!) I have been wanting one for some 10 odd years. OK.  So not wanting or thinking about it everyday, just every once in a while I would think about getting one. Then I would forget. Then I would want it again. Silly. Now I have one of my very one. FUN FUN!! Do you have one? Do you enjoy it?!?!?

This cookie was fun. I cannot lie ~ it IS time-consuming. No, I did not say hard, I said time-consuming. But, please, don’t let that frighten you. They are delish and oh so fun for Valentines Day!

The taste of raspberry is nice and subtle,  adding the chocolate to it takes it up about 500 notches. Yum. PLUS they get better and better each day. Which is good, cause they make a lot.

I wondered if it would be good with raspberry jam instead of cake/pie filling. I tried it. It didn’t set up as nice and really, the pie filling is just better. I think I went heavier than I was supposed too, being that I had to open another can of pie filling. So go a bit sparingly or BETTER YET, have an extra can on hand?!?!? Serve extra raspberry pie filling over pancakes or waffles with powdered sugar maybe?? JUST an IDEA.

Anyone have a recipe they care to share that uses a cookie press?? I WOULD really enjoy hearing about it!! I really don’t have any recipes for the cookie press. THANKS!!! (E-mail is favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com)

From what I have read (on the cookie press box….) the dough + cookie press do not work so well together when the dough is cold. Just tellin’ you want I read.  I am a dough chiller usually, so I took note of this. SO, DON’T CHILL THE DOUGH 1ST.

food 895

♥HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!! To you all. (A bit early…..) Enjoy and give those you love and extra hug and an “I love you” on Valentines Day!  ♥

“I Love You” Cookies 

1 1/2 c. butter (3 sticks)
3 oz. pkg. raspberry jello
1 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
2 tsp. milk
1 tsp. baking powder
4 c. flour
12 oz. can of Solo Raspberry Pie filling (I used 1 1/2 cans…)
2 (12 oz.) bags of semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 TB. shortening

Sift the flour and baking powder together and set aside.

Beat the butter, dry jello and sugar together till creamed. Add the egg, milk, and vanilla and mix well.

Add the flour mixture and beat well.

Force dough through a cookie press (choose the heart-shaped disk ~ well, it actually looks like a “Y”, but that IS the one you want) and  onto an un-greased cookie sheet. Bake @ 350° for 9-10 minutes till JUST barely browned on the bottom, watch carefully!

Cool completely.

Meanwhile, melt the chocolate and shortening in a double boiler.

Spread just a bit of pie filling on one cookie and top with another. Dip 1/2 of the cookie into the melted chocolate. Let set on wax paper to set.

Yield about 85 cookies.

ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from “Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor” Cookbook, page 144.

This recipe is linked to Six Sister’s Stuff.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. These are the best – I have never made them myself – but my Mom makes them. I will even hide some in the fridge just for me and keep them from my kids. 🙂 I know terrible huh! But my Mom used homemade strawberry jam and that is the best. My Mom also uses white chocolate too – for a nice look – but I do prefer chocolate. 🙂

    • No, worries, I hide things from my kids too….. 😉 I am REALLY happy to know that your mom uses homemade jam! I tried 2 cookies with raspberry jam and was concerned that it would be too wet and make the cookie soggy or something, so I switched to the pie filling. I thought the jam would have a stronger berry taste than the pie filling, I WILL be trying it with jam next time! Thank you so very much for reading and thanks so very much for commenting!!! 🙂

  2. Oh fun! A cookie press! Don’t have one so I will be excited to see yours and possibly try it out sometime 🙂 THe cookies look great, especially dipped in the chocolate, yum!

  3. I can’t wait to make these cookies! Maybe for dad’s birthday. As you know Bobbi I DO have a cookie press tho I have never made cookies with it so you may not know I have one. I only have used it to fill my deviled eggs at Christmas time. Shameful I know! Now I will use it for cookies! But just FYI the star tip does make filling deviled eggs easy and pretty 🙂

    • Yeah, I did know you had a cookie press I guess, cause we have talked about it ~ it was just never in my possession when I wanted to use it!!!! …. I don’t think it is shameful to pipe the filling for deviled eggs with the cookie press, I ACTUALLY think it is very smart!!!!!

  4. I just made these this morning…yum! Thanks for reminding me of these cookies! Joy use to make these for me every valentines!

Leave a Reply

