Mexican Salad

Standard

food 885

I found this treasure of a recipe while reading a very old cookbook. There is a small stash of cookbooks that a read and re-read each summer on vacation. Occasionally my grandma will throw a new one in there…..happy happy me. Cookbooks are my “books”. At least am reading….right??

In a constant quest to find the “just right” pairing for tacos or anything Mexican,  I stumbled upon this recipe that I jotted down a few summers ago. Yum. My kids aren’t necessarily fans of all the “extras” in it ~ but they just load it off to the side and it happily joins my plate.  Leave off something if your family will not enjoy OR add something you think they might…..I am thinking you could even add chicken to this for lunch or a light dinner!

* I did change a number of things from the original recipe.

  1. It was straight up mayo in the dressing,  I took out some and added some sour cream.
  2. It also called for a can of diced green chilis, I had JUST used my last can for soup…..so I used some candied jalapenos I had made, it gave it a nice sweet~heat kick.
  3. The recipe called for cheddar cheese, but I had pepper jack cheese JUST begging to join the party…..nice addition as well!

SO, now we go to the recipe!

Mexican Salad 

Salad: 
1-2 heads of Romaine lettuce (I used one large one)
sliced black olives (I used about 10)
2-3 tomatoes (I used about 10 cherry tomatoes, halved)
1/4 – 1/2  of a red onion, diced
1 can of green chilies, chopped (I used candied jalapenos)
8 oz. grated cheddar cheese (I used pepper jack)
1 avocado (cut up and toss with some lemon juice)
good handful of Doritos, crushed

Dressing: 
1/2 c. mayonnaise
1/2 c. sour cream
1/2 c. salsa verde (the green salsa)
1/4 c. ketchup
1 tsp. chili powder

Layer the salad ingredients in the order listed. Saving the avocados and the crushed Doritos to add in JUST before serving.

Combine the dressing ingredients. Chill till serving time.

When ready to serve ~ toss together the salad, avocado and chips. Pour about 1/2 the dressing over, toss. Adding all of the dressing would be TOO much in my opinion. Though, my husband likes more……so I put the rest on the table to serve over individual serving. PLUS that makes the leftovers not so soggy.

TIP:Leftover dressing is delicious on wraps or on quesadillas.

Enjoy!

Sorry about my crazy ( )….THAT got a bit out of control.

Good Day.

Recipe adapted from a lovely old Church Cookbook from Kalamazoo.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

9 responses »

  1. I’ve made a recipe similar to this except it also has some pasta in it. I’ve used conchiglie or small bowties. Adds an extra something to it. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. this recipe got here just in the nick of time!!!I have so many of these ingrediants and it will go perfect with my supper tom. night.

  3. Hi Bobbi,
    Thanks for all your recipes. I like reading your blog and all the recipes you try 🙂 Can you sometime post your recipe for the “candied jalepenos” that you mentioned? Mike loves jalepenos and we grow some every summer but we always get extras. We do can some with carrots and garlic but we’re always on the look out for new ways to do them 🙂

    • Hi Corrie! Thanks for reading and commenting! I was wondering if ANYONE would catch my “candied jalepeno” plug!!! 🙂 I made them for the 1st time end of last summer and we have been really enjoying them! I will share the recipe, I was going to wait till canning time….BUT if you want it earlier, just let me know! I will gladly share it!! Thanks again!

  4. This salad sounds delish!! Can’t wait to try it, I like the sound of you substitutions too! We may need to add it to our cottage menu 🙂

  5. This dish is fantastic—-unclePaul really liked it !!!!and he really liked it again 2 days later when we finished up the bowl!!!!! I followed the recipe –just used Monteray jack cheese instead of cheddar……this recipe is a keeper and an” again and againer”

Leave a Reply

