Buckeye Brownies

Standard

food 543

Are you a peanut butter and chocolate fan??? We are. We like these Buckeye  Cupcakes, and when I saw Buckeye  Brownies in a Gooseberry Patch cookbook, I knew that they would be fantastically delicious as well! They were. If this is a flavor combo that you enjoy…..you MIGHT want to give it a whirl. IF you don’t like that combo, then just make it for your family ~ they will thank you. If you are allergic…. 😉 ….love ya….STAY AWAY.

Buckeye Brownies 
Brownie mix for a 9 ” x 13 ” pan. (or these)
2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. + 3 TB. butter
8 oz. (about 1 c.) peanut  butter
8 oz. chocolate chips
1 TB. shortening
Prepare the brownies as directed on box.  Allow to cool. Beat together the powdered sugar, 1/2 c. butter and peanut butter. (I added a scosh of vanilla too….) When all mixed nicely spread over cooled brownies. Chill 1 hour. Melt the chocolate chips with the shortening. (I prefer to do with my double boiler, but melt it as you usually melt your chocolate.)  Stir and spread over cooled peanut butter layer, working quickly OR it will harden up on you. Enjoy :).

Recipe adapted from a Gooseberry Patch Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. FYI- you can substitute sunflower seed butter for the peanut butter in the recipe if you are allergic to peanut butter. I have done this in the past with other baking recipes and they have turned out well. Can’t wait to try it in this one for my peanut allergic son!

    • I hope he likes it! I have tried cookies you made with sunflower seed butter and they were good. I am glad that there are substitutions out there for people with special diets and/or allergies! Beck, I really DO appreciate your feedback and changes to some of the recipes, it really does help others with special diets as well! Thanks!

  2. I’m laughing at aunt sher’s reply because this was going to be my reply: mmmm………mmmmmmmm!! Well, it still is my reply mmmm……mmmmmmmm!!!

  3. Oh!! I just read Becky’s reply…..we should try this for our Lauren!! THanks to Becky for all her helpful comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

