Indoor S’mores

Standard

Aldi Special Items for Jan. 23 ~ 29.

(Check out the full ad here, listed are ONLY a few of the Special Items.)

* Fuji Apples, 3 lb. for $2.49.

* Grapefruit, 39¢ each.

* Oranges, 4 lb. for $1.99.

*Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, $1.69 per lb. (Sold in about 5 lb. pkgs.)

* Sweet Baby Rays Wing Sauce, 12 oz. for $1.99.

* 9 oz. pkg. of Kettlecorn for $1.99.

( I have decided to keep the “Aldi day” as I have been doing it, even if IT is just benefiting a few people…..It only takes me moments to do, so that is fine and fun. I will share a recipe occasionally that goes along with a special item OR (like today) just share a recipe that requires all Aldi ingredients.)

A Recipe.

At  times I have trouble coming up with snacks for my kids. They are hungry, but I don’t want to FILL them up because lunch or dinner is usually right around the corner. I saw this recipe in a cookbook and my first thought was “this is actually a recipe?” I have been making indoor s’mores for years and years. Well….looks like I was doing it wrong, or at least the tedious messy way. (I know….s’mores are ment to be messy, but I will leave that to the campfire s’mores.) I used to use mini marshmallows and chocolate chips…….

Not any more.

This “recipe” actually took me 2-3 times to get…..once I used a whole marshmallow and that shmallow puffed to be nearly the size of my head. The second time I heated up the hot fudge and it was too messy. The third time I got it…….”recipe” below.

(Oh, yeah, sorry about the micro cooking time gap. You see, my microwave is finicky. I can put something in it, and take it out 2 minutes later (yes, I DID press start…..come on……)  and it will be refrigerator cold yet……. If your microwave performs well and actually HEATS up your food, then you should start with 20 seconds when warming up your marshmallow. Marshmallows DO become hard when heated too long. FYI. My “older than the hills” microwave takes about 40 seconds. Don’t get me wrong, I am THANKFUL to have it!! In all its loveliness.)

“S’mores” is a GREAT name for these (smart person who named them forever ago!), my kids always ask for “some more”. Hope your kids enjoy as well!! I like to make these earlier in the day, cool them, then wrap in plastic wrap and either pack in their lunches or give as a snack.

I have only used it with this hot fudge sauce. But I am sure all hot fudge sauces would work.

food 871

Indoor S’mores 

2 graham crackers
1 large marshmallow
hot fudge sauce

Break graham crackers in half and place 2  squares on a plate. Cut marshmallow in half and place one on each graham cracker square, cut side down. Microwave for 20-40 seconds (start with 20), till marshmallow is puffed.

Meanwhile, spread the other graham cracker squares with about 1 tsp. of hot fudge sauce. (DO NOT heat the sauce up, just spread it on the cracker, if you cannot spread it, then heat till just barely warmed.  If it is heated up too much it will just ooze out.)

Place cracker, hot fudge side down, on marshmallow. Either cool and then wrap up or serve right away!!

Yields 2 snacks.

Recipe idea from, Simple 1-2-3 Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

    • Something about graham crackers, for sure! Still one of my favorite snacks!!! We had a lot of peanut butter and graham crackers growing up…..memories!

  1. Loved this snack! With school starting trying to be creative with after school snacks. I just happened to have your homemade fudge sauce in my fridge 😉 I did NOT heat that up but with warm marshmellow just melted it right up. Note to self…children must be seated, instructed to lean over plate or napkin. 3 out of 5 kids spilled fudge on their shirts. SIgh…hope that comes out! Will be doing this again and again 🙂

    • S’mores are pretty messy! These ones are NO exception! I have been giving my kids frosting on graham crackers as a snack……..heavy on the cracker, light on the frosting! 🙂 (Hope the stains come out…….try the stain remover on my blog, I use it ALL the time!!!! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

