Cheesy Rice Cups

Standard

I am hoping to share a few Quick Easy Meals, Simple Side Dishes and Simple Snacks over the next few weeks! I know those are popular requests and I am hoping to help you guys out…..maybe you can help us out too by sharing one of your favorite recipes??? Send it here ~ favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com ~ and I will try my very best to try it and share it with our readers!! Fun.

food 860

So let’s start with a Simple Side Dish.

I used to get a fun little present in the mail every few months…… the Kraft Recipe magazine (I believe it was called something like “Food & Family” ~ don’t quote me on that. Oh, wait, it may have just come to me ~ Kraft Foods ~ oh wait, maybe not…..anyone remember the title????) Anyways, that magazine was fun! Full of great easy recipes, ranging from snacks to breakfast to dinner. There were coupons and fun articles to read. I miss that magazine…… Oh, anyway, sorry ~ this recipe (though I have changed a few things) came from one of those magazines. It is a nice side dish,  it pairs well with something like chicken nuggets or even something like “breakfast for dinner”! (Even the kids will eat it……….probably cause of all the cheesy yumminess in it!)

Have rice from another nights dinner??? This is a great way to use leftover rice!!

Cheesy Rice Cups   

2 c. cooked brown rice
3 c. frozen chopped broccoli, thawed
2 c. Monterey jack cheese (divided)
1/2 c. ranch dressing
4 eggs
salt & pepper to taste

Combine the rice, broccoli, 1 1/4 c. of the cheese, dressing, eggs and salt & pepper. Mix well. Grease your muffin tin WELL and divide rice mixture evenly. Top with remaining 3/4 c. cheese. Bake @ 350° for 30 minutes. Let set 5 minutes. Run a knife around the edge of the rice cups and they should pop right out. Enjoy!!!

Yields 12 Cheesy Rice Cups

Recipe adapted from Kraft Foods Magazine.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

13 responses »

  1. I am going to try to hypnotize Uncle Paul , so that I can make this delicious looking rice dish…..maybe if I show him the picture he will go for it……p.s. he doesn’t like rice.

    • WHAT?? How could he not like rice??? Eshh….I actually KNOW that a lot of people do not like rice. You don’t bite into this and think “oh, rice” ~ it is just there. Tho maybe you feel the texture of rice….. I say, make his FAVORITE meat for dineer, pound cake for dessert and throw this rice dish in there…..maybe he will not notice?!?!? (or he will have major snackage later……;) ) PS. Leftovers make a fantastic lunch!!! 🙂

  2. I believe you can still get that magazine online by email if you sign up for it at kraftfoods.com I loved getting that free magazine in the mail too. It always had great recipes and I used a lot of them. Wish they still sent it out in hard copy form.

    • I will have to check that out! Thanks! I, like you, much prefer to have the magazine IN my hands…..but I will just enjoy the recipes I jotted down years ago AND look into kraftfoods.com!! THANKS!

  3. these are miraculous little things…uncle Paul called them “quiche” but ate one anyway and liked it with all his “stubborn unwilling to eat quiche heart”–Susan and I loved them–I ate 3…and wanted to stand inside the fridge door later that night and sneak another—Susan ate all 3 that I sent home with Steve –supposed to be 1 for each of them….one last thing—I have shared the recipe three fold…..

  4. Oh I didn’t see your reply—I made them with leftover pork roast and gravy and mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes—they were the “VEGETABLE” hahahaha …plus Ella was here so we we were all high on life!!! Funny –he said not one thing about the rice……..keep all this good stuff comin’ and I forwarded this to aunt Claudia

Leave a Reply

