Pumpkin Zucchini Bread

Standard

food 224

Are you a sweet bread fan??

Did you happen to freeze any zucchini from your garden last summer?? Do you want to use it up??

Do you want to enjoy a quick bread that is ANYthing but dry???

Umm……

Maybe I can help!! I have now made this bread a good number of times, obviously we enjoyed it each time (or I wouldn’t keep making it, right?), but this last time I added some sour cream to it……winner. Time to share the recipe!!!

I hope you enjoy this bread as much as we do!

*IF you are using frozen zucchini, be sure to thaw it all the way and drain any liquid from it. I always measure the  zucchini I want to freeze in 2 c. portions, when it is thawed it will look like LESS then 2 c. , that is OK just use it as it is. IF using fresh, then grate a full 2 c. and use that. Make sense?

* The 1/2 c. oil and the 1/2 c. applesauce is used in place of 1 c. butter. It is delicious both ways……

*I like to use 8″ x 4″ loaf pans (3)…….just watch baking time carefully, all ovens bake differently, check at 40 minutes.

Pumpkin Zucchini Bread 
3 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cloves
3 eggs
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar
1 c. pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix)
1/2 c. oil
1/2 c. applesauce
1/2 c. sour cream
1 TB. vanilla
2 c. shredded zucchini
1 c. chopped walnuts, opt.

Combine the dry ingredients (1st 7) in a large bowl and set aside.

In another bowl, mix together the eggs, sugars, pumpkin, applesauce, sour cream, oil and vanilla.  Add this to the dry flour mixture and stir just till combined. Fold in the zucchini and walnuts.

Pour into 2 greased  9″ x 5″ loaf pans. Bake @ 350° for 45-55  minutes. Till middle is cooked and bread is nicely browned. Cool a few minutes in the pans, then carefully (run knife around the edge in case of stickage) place on wire rack to cool.

Let cool, slice, serve with butter…..yum….or skip butter, you  may, but umm butter on warm bread…..yummmm…..

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. I made this last week. Thought I had applesauce in the fridge, but it was moldy, so I increased the oil to 3/4 cup and it turned out delicious. I made 4 mini loaves and 6 muffins. This will be my go-to recipe for zucchini bread because the one I usually make doesn’t cook evenly and always sinks in the middle. Must be my oven. 🙂

    • The dreaded moldy applesauce….yuck…..GLAD it was delicious tho!!! 🙂 Your “go – to” recipe??!! YEAH!!! NOW THAT IS a complement!!! Thanks!

  2. on a quest to clean out the freezer and pantry I found some frozen zucchini and canned pumpkin so I thought, why not try this recipe out? I increased the applesauce to 3/4 cup and decreased the oil to 1/4 cup and baked it in mini loaf pans. To my children’s delight I added mini choc. chips to half of the loaves and everything turned out great! Guess which ones they ate first?

    • Well, no DOUBT in my mind they went for the chocolate chip loaves!!! I may just need to snag THAT idea from you!!! EVERYONE needs a little chocolate all of the time, oh, I meal ONCE in a while! Thanks!!!

  3. Just wanted to say that this was fantastic! I thawed some frozen zucchini, planning on making zucchini bread, but also had leftover sour cream and pumpkin puree in the fridge. This was the perfect recipe for all of the ingredients I had on hand. I did make a few modifications as per what I had on hand. I subbed part whole wheat flour, I used butter, and I only had 1/2 c. pumpkin puree, so I also used 1/2 c. applesauce. I also removed both sugars and replaced them with 1 c. pure maple syrup. I also added raisins. I made it into muffins, using cupcake liners, and it made 28 muffins. They baked for 20 min, and were perfectly moist and delicious. Thanks so much for a great fall recipe! (I will definitely be making it again!)

Leave a Reply

