Chicken Breasts in Wine

Standard

I am very thankful to you my friends and to those of you I do not know, for reading this blog. I am enjoying this all very much, I am a “wear my  heart on my sleeve” kinda girl. So occasionally you will get these little side notes from me.  I thank you for your time in reading, for your comments and for sharing my blog with others as a way for it to grow!!! Thank You. I will keep up my end (cooking, baking, snapping pictures and recipe sharing) IF you keep up your end (reading, commenting AND blog sharing)!!! 😉 YEAH for fun times!!!

Now. I ask for opinions. I realize this little bloggypoo is my thing, to do with as I please. BUT I want your opinions too, as to how to make it better. I appreciate  your opinions!  Today we will focus on the “Aldi day” ~ being that TODAY is “Aldi day”.  Some thoughts:

  • I shop Aldi a lot, so I check their ads and plan some meals, snacks, pantry/freezer stocking up around the ads. I try to give you a RUNDOWN of some of the “Special Buys” ~ for me to share them ALL would be much too long and probably a tad annoying. So I pick and choose. I give the price and size of product, do you find this helpful??? Do you use this feature??
  • “My” Aldi runs its specials from Weds. to Tues. How about “your” Aldi? Does your ad start on a different day?
  • I share the prices as posted in the ad, have you noticed that these prices are DIFFERENT at times in your store? I just wonder IF some Aldi’s are higher or lower than others. A friend of mine just told me she notices price differences at times. IF listing the price is not helpful I would like to know, I could leave that part out……
  • Have you seen something on my blog and been unable to find it in the store??? Maybe all Aldi’s do not carry the same products???
  • I sometimes do not have a recipe to share that connects with a “Special Buy” item, those days I like to share a recipe that is “Aldi friendly” ~ one that uses all Aldi ingredients. THOUGH maybe some items are not in all Aldis???? Have these recipes even been handy to you?
  • DO YOU skip over this “Aldi” part each week and go right to the recipe (not offended) or do you read it?? I just want to know IF it is worth continuing on……

I do not SHOP exclusively AT Aldi and Aldi could care less that I talk about then so very much….ha…..SO would it be fine IF on occasion I shared a “good deal” from another store??? Perhaps Strack & VanTil or Walgreens?

Thank you for your time and interest and thoughts!!! 🙂

Aldi Special Items for Jan. 16 ~ 22.

(Not a complete list of Special Buys, check the ad out here to see it all!!)   
 

* Liquid Hand Soup (not edible…..but still a good buy…..) 7.5 oz. for 85¢.

* Spicy Salsa or Quacamole Tortilla Chips, 12 oz. bag for $1.69.

* 1 lb. Salted & Roasted Peanuts, in shell, for $1.49.

* Bugles (General Mills brand) 99¢ for 7.5 oz. bag.

* Hormel Turkey Pepperoni, $2.79 for a 6 oz. package.

* Fresh Turkey Tenderloin, 30 oz. pkg. for $4.99

* Chicken Thighs and Chicken Drumsticks, sold in 3 – 3.5 lb. pkgs, each are $1.19 per lb.

* Fresh Chicken Breasts, $2.49 per lb.

* Fresh Chicken Tenderloin, $2.69 per lb.

* 3 lb. Onions, 16 oz. pkg. of Zucchini and 8 oz. pkg. of Mushrooms are all 99¢ each.

* 10 lb. bag of Potatoes, $1.49.

* 2 lb. bag of Carrots is 69¢.

* Don’t forget about those yummy Sandwich Skinnys!! (12 oz. for $1.99)

Now for a recipe.

SINCE chicken is a good buy this week I thought I would share one of our favorite chicken meals. ENJOY!

Isn’t it nice when your meal has a lovely sauce that cooks right along with it?? Makes for a rather easy meal. This chicken is delicious served over mashed potatoes or noodles.

food 810

* If you are not keen on the taste of white wine in your sauce, then just use chicken broth.

* I used homemade cream “of” soup, in place of the cream of mushroom soup this time.

Chicken Breasts in Wine 

3 chicken breasts, split
1 tsp. salt
3 TB. flour
1 c. sour cream
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 c. white wine
1/3 c. sliced almonds (opt.)
1 TB. paprika (I like, but did not have this last time)

Place chicken breasts in baking dish. Sprinkle with 1/2 tsp. salt. Put 3 TB. flour in a bowl, add the sour cream, soup, wine and rest of salt. Mix and pour over chicken. Top with almonds and paprika. Bake @ 325° for 1 – 1 1/3 hours, or until done. (I cover mine.)

Enjoy.

Recipe from Hull PRCS Cookbook, page 294.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

  1. Bobbi I find your aldi posts very helpful even tho I get an aldi add in my paper… I also think it seems like a lot of work for you to do that…….I also think your aldi is way better than my aldi…I also think I am hungry for this supper….and those are my thoughts:)

  2. Can’t wait to try this recipe! I was looking for easy recipes to expand my recipe file. Looks and sounds yummy and something my family might try.

  3. We had this for supper tonight and it was DELISH!! All 4 kids liked it 🙂 Score! And…about the Aldi posts, I do look at my own Aldi flyer and kinda have my go-to Aldi things…so I kind-of agree that posting all that info is a lot of work for you! Still enjoy getting the recipes though!!!

    • YEAH!!! So glad you all enjoyed AND that the kids ate it too (ALWAYS a bonus!!) Thanks for your Aldi opinion, it has been very HELPFUL for me to read what people have to say! Thank you so so much for reading and commenting!!! I have PLENTY o’ recipes to share yet…..thanks for the encouragement!!! 🙂

  4. I really like the Aldi sale items and recipes. Definitely want you to continue since we only receive Aldi ads occasionally. Will definitely be working the chicken recipe into this weeks menu.

    • Thanks for your opinion. I do plan on continue the “Aldi posts” ~ I realize some people really enjoy them AND they really only take me minutes to put together. THANKS for reading and THANKS for commenting!!! 🙂

  5. Absolutely delish! Seen this recipe in my cookbook many times but never tried til tonight. Family all loved but will probably skip the almonds next time-everyone but me had a little pile of almonds on the side of their plates 🙂 they will never grow up!! I love a recipe that makes its own gravy-excellent over mashed potatoes!

    • Glad you guys enjoyed!! 🙂 Yeah, my family is not a HUGE fan of the almonds either! (I usually skip adding the almonds! Not for me…….I would enjoy them……)

Leave a Reply

