Patty Melts

Standard

THANK YOU thank you!!! To all who shared their favorites in the year-end round up post!!! (You may still put your “vote” in!) :) That ment a lot to me!! I really do so very enjoying hearing from you all!!!!  LOOKS like the winners are…..drumroll please……. Homemade Burger Buns, Cordon Blue Meatloaf and Grasshopper Dessert!! Thank you guys, I am looking forward to sharing MANY more recipes in 2013!!!! I also look forward to hearing from you all! Thanks to those who have shared recipes with me, I so very much enjoy that too!!! I  look forward to making those that you have shared with me!! If you have a recipe you would like to share, send it to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com. THANKS!!

food 705

I grew up eating this sandwich, yet I ALWAYS seem to forget about it! Then I remember and make it and think “why do I always forget about this??”  (Thank you to a friend for REMINDING me about it!!!)

It is great with soup. It is a great way to use up some leftover French Bread. You can use whatever bread your family would enjoy.

I can usually get 4 good size sandwiches out of this.

Patty Melts  

1 onion, sliced thinly
2 TB. butter
good dash of seasoning salt
1 lb. ground beef
salt & pepper (to taste)
1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
6 slices of provolone or Swiss cheese
8 slices of bread (French, Rye or Pumpernickel)
butter for spreading on bread

Melt the butter in a skillet, add the onions and seasoning salt. Cook till browned and caramelized (usually takes a good 20 minutes or so). Set aside.

Mix together the beef, salt & pepper and Worcestershire sauce. Mix till just combined and shape into 4 patties (aim for a shape that is similar to your bread, so this might be more ovalish then roundish).

Cook patties, both sides,  in a skillet (I spray well with cooking spray) till cooked through.

Butter all the slices of bread on one side.

Assembly:  (I do this right on the griddle, spray with cooking spray 1st).
1 slice of bread, butter side down
1 slice of cheese
1 cooked beef patty
some onions
1/2 slice of cheese
1 slice of bread, butter side up

Brown on each side. Serve. Enjoy!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

11 responses »

  1. Bobbi,

    Uncle Jack and I love your recipe for the squash/apple back and also the cranberry almond bread!

    Keep the recipes coming! We also love reading your stories about the recipes!

    Aunt Penny

  2. SOOO making this tomrrow night!! I have tons of hmb and never know what to do with it when it’s not “grilling season” (AND I GOT A HUGE FRENCH LOAF 1/2 off today!:) ) THANKS FOR POSTING!!!!!

Leave a Reply

