Fresh Baked French Bread

Standard

I will admit, I AM a bread snob. Have been since my first EVER bite of bread….to know me it to know my bread issue. I think that is WHY I love love to make homemade breads and such. I have tried many a french bread recipes and this one is my favorite. 

* I did change just a few things from the original recipe. I needed about 8 c. of flour, just keep kneading in a bit of flour till it is not sticky, when you have it at a “not sticky” point, stop adding flour and knead till nice and smooth. The whole process should take about 6-8 minutes ~ I have found.  I also added an egg wash. This gives the bread a nice finished look. I suggest making this into 2 loaves, I also tried to make french bread rolls for beef sandwiches and it worked very good.

food 209 food 247

Fresh  Baked French Bread  
2 1/2 c. warm water
2 TB. yeast
3 TB. sugar
2 TB. vinegar
1 TB. salt
1/3 c. oil
6-8 c. flour
1 beaten egg
1 TB. water

Mix the warm water and yeast, let this set for 3 minutes or so till foamy. Add the sugar and vinegar, mix well. Add the salt, oil and flour ~ 1 c. at a time. When to hard to stir, then dump on the counter and knead the rest in. Knead till smooth and elastic, the whole kneading should take about 6 minutes. Put in a lg. greased bowl, cover with a towel or plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place for 45 minutes.

Divide into 2 ( or for rolls) and shape into a loaf. Grease a cookie sheet (with sides) and sprinkle with cornmeal. Put the dough on the prepared pan. Slash the tops and brush with the beaten egg mixed with 1 TB. water. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise till JUST doubled. Should take about 30 minutes.

Bake @ 375* for 25-30 minutes till a nice brown color. Take off pan and put on cooling rack.

Yield 2 loaves or 1 loave and 6 rolls or 12 large rolls. Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from Deals to Meals.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. Made this and loved the bread! Was wondering what your fav ways of using leftovers, but since noticed your sandwiches in the recent post. Anything else? Have you tried french toast? Grilled Cheese, probably toast maybe also would be great. Wonder if panini would work…or maybe not sturdy enough b/c it is a softer bread.

    • So glad you enjoyed it!! French Toast is good, just be sure the French Bread is a day or so old, then it is not quite as soft. It makes fantastic grilled cheese and panini’s. Yes, toast is yummy as well! “Egg in the Holes” are good with this bread too. Also, I like to butter it and top with a bit of garlic and Parmesan cheese, then broil ~ cheese toast!! (Great with Italian meals). I am planning on sharing another recipe that you can use the leftover bread in, be sure to check it out!! 🙂 Thanks for your question!!

  2. I made this bread yesterday and it was the most beautiful loaf of french bread ever!! Dad said the same thing, I made it to go with leftover beef stew and pea soup ….we didn’t eat either, just the bread with peanut butter and jelly:) I am thinking of something special to do with the rest of the loaf so glad I got some ideas here! Oh not only did it look beautiful, it tasted delicious….nice texture..

  3. perusing your recipe index tonight. excited to start cooking off of it! specifically right now I’m focusing on bread. thus far I’m feeling defeated. hoping to find one that i can actually have success with!

    • THIS IS SO FUN SUZ!!!! Thanks for taking the time to peruse through my blog, THAT means a lot!!! 🙂 Don’t feel overwhelmed by bread, really it is NOT hard. Best piece of advice would be to NOT over rise the dough. IT may be tempting to rise it long, as it gets bit and puffy and really lovely BUT just rise till doubled! IT will rise more in the oven while baking, OVER rising causes breads to fall flat. At least in my experience!! HAPPY BAKING!!! 🙂 (Peruse in my new favorite word…..yep)

Leave a Reply

