Almond Poppy Seed Muffins

Standard

I sincerely hope you are ALL enjoying this Christmas season, taking a moment as often as you can to savor the things you are doing…..not JUST rush through them so you can go on to the next thing, I know IT IS hard. Take a moment to enjoy the awesomeness of Christmas.

 I wish you all a very Blessed Christmas!

food 821

High fives ALL AROUND for the 1st day of Winter!!! (Am I high-fiving myself or are there ANY other winter fans out there!??!? Come on, the hot chocolate, shoveling, dragging sleds around, scarves and mittens, dorky robes, candles…..fun stuff.)

AT least it resembles winter outside finally with the ice/wind/chill/miniscule about of snow on the ground! No shoveling….YET!

food 822

Almond Poppy Seed Muffins

food 723

The flavor of almond will ALWAYS remind me of the holidays, though I do not strictly make almondy things only around the holidays.  These muffins are one of my favorites.

*As you can see, about 1/2 of the muffins I just simply sprinkled with sugar and topped with a few sliced almonds ~ and the other half of the muffins I sprinkled with almonds, then  drizzled with a glaze. I wanted you to see that you could go either route. (We prefer to top the muffins with a glaze.)

* My kids are not keen on having the almonds on top. If that would be the same in your house, if someone would rather not eat them, just leave off.  There is STILL plenty of almond flavor to be had.

* My addition to this recipe is the shredded Almond Paste, that is however, an optional ingredient if you would prefer to just leave it out.  I just think it really amps up the almond flavor and makes the muffins SO good.  It can be rather expensive, but I have quite a few recipes that use that ingredient and it. is. just. really. good. So for me it is worth it to have on hand.  My friend researched the price a bit this year and found the BEST place to buy it is GFS and it comes in a 7 lb. tub ~ just as a warning it will probably around $37….I KNOW, sorry.

* NOTE * I need to follow my own advice  a little better here * Using PURE Almond extract is so so so much better than imitation…..the flavor it so  much stronger.  (I know it is more expensive….it might just make my Christmas wish  list this year…….)

* This recipe will yield about 10-12 muffins.

Almond Poppy Seed Muffins 
1/2 c. sugar
1/3 c. oil
1 egg
1/2 tsp. almond extract
1/2 c. sour cream
1/4 c. milk
1 1/3 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 TB. poppy seeds
1/4 lb. shredded Almond Paste (maybe about a heaping 1/2 c.)(optional)
sugar (optional topping)
sliced almonds (optional topping)
*powdered sugar glaze (optional topping, directions below)

Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners, or spray muffin tins with cooking spray. In a bowl, combine the sugar, oil, egg and almond extract. Beat in the sour cream and milk with a spoon until well blended. Stir in the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda and poppy seeds until well blended. Fold in the Almond Paste. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups. Sprinkle with sugar (if going that route) and almonds (if going that route). Bake @ 350° for about 16-20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack and drizzle with * powdered sugar glaze.

* Optional Powdered Sugar Glaze.
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 1/2 tsp – 3  tsp. milk
1/2 tsp. almond extract
Stir together to get a nice smooth consistency, then drizzle over your muffins.

Enjoy!

This recipe came from Lori, with my slight changes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. As always Bobbi , I LOVE the pictures…..not that I don’t like the recipes , I do……esp. the almond muffins but the pictures………NICE!

  2. If I read correctly, the almond paste is opt? Now I realize what an awesome almond taste it would give but do not have in house. Maybe I’ll just dump in more extract-that I always have on hand!!

    • Yes, the almond paste is optional ~ simply because it is my addition to an already existing recipe. Almond paste is expensive, so not everyone has it, that is why I left it as optional :). I usually do have that on hand, so I always add the almond paste to these muffins. Yeah, feel free to add a bit more extract to amp up the almond flavor!!! I hope this helps…..or maybe it is too late to be helpful…… The almond paste also makes these extra moist (oh…I so don’t like that word but NEEDED to use it here.) Just another reason why I really like it in the muffin as well.

Leave a Reply

