Peppermint Bark

Standard

Check it out! Favorite Family Foods is on Pinterest!!!

Aldi Specials, starting Dec. 18.

(Just a few things out of the ad.)
  • 10 lb. bag of Russet Potatoes is $1.29.
  • 3 lb. bag of Onions is 79¢.
  • 16 oz. bag of Brussels Sprouts is $1.79.
  • 4 lb. bag of Oranges is $1.99.
  • 3 lb. bag of Clementines is $2.99.
  • IF you are not in the baking mood, Aldi has you covered. I saw a number of pies/cakes/sweets throughout the ad.
  • We usually enjoy quite a few snacky type items throughout the Christmas week. Aldi has a nice selection of cheeses, cheese balls, snack mixes and appetizer items. Be sure to check it out!
  • A 16 oz. Shrimp Ring is $5.99 (a smaller ring is $4.99), don’t forget the Cocktail sauce! ($1.29)
  • Sparkling Cider and Juices are  fun treats to have, for kids AND adults alike. Grab a 25.4 oz. bottle for $2.29-$2.49.
  • A 33.9 oz. container of Classic Roast Coffee is $5.49.
  • Need creamer for your coffee? How about Peppermint Mocha? A 16 oz. container is $1.49.
  • Top with a dollop of Whipped Topping, an 8 oz. container is 89¢.
  • OR…..a side of Ice Cream???  A 48 oz. container is $2.69.
  • Do you like Hot Chocolate better than coffee? (yes….) Grab some milk and a box of Nestle Nesquick for $3.99 (a 21.8 oz. container).
  • Butter ($1.99), Cream Cheese (99¢) and Crescent Rolls (99¢) are ALL STILL at a great price!!! Grab them well you STILL can!
  • Turkey is $1.19 per lb. Ham ranges from 99¢ – $1.49 per lb.  DOES YOUR FAMILY ENJOY HAM OR TURKEY FOR CHRISTMAS DINNER??! or both??  (Ham….hands down winner in this house!)

The following is a recipe made from ALL Aldi (Winter Seasonal) items. (AT one point Aldi was carrying mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, my Aldi sold out WAY to quickly. Regular size chocolate chips work fine for this recipe.)

Peppermint Bark

food 801

For some reason I have an over-abundance of candy canes. (Someone just keeps buying them each week, because she this person thinks “Do I have candy canes at home? Oh, let’s grab a box….just. in. case.”)

So. That means. I needed to use some up. Chocolate + Mint = Deliciousness.

Peppermint Bark is easy.  You really CANNOT mess it up…….unless ~

  1. You burn the chocolate. It happens. It is OK. Just learn from your mistakes. Chocolate IS sensitive. VERY sensitive. I have had happily melting chocolate turn ugly in seconds.  I HIGHLY recommend a double-boiler. Microwaves mess things up at times (though IF you take your time and stir every 30 seconds ~ 1 min. you should be OK.)
  2. Your chocolate seizes up. OK. So, I do not always think (not my better quality…..). I wanted to make Peppermint Bark with flecks of mini-chocolate chips. I THOUGHT (at this point my “thinker” was working) IF I add the chocolate chips now, when the almond bark is hot, it will melt the little chocolate chips. I wanted WHITE chocolate with brown flecks and peppermint pieces.   SO, I cooled to luke warm. Checking, till just the right level of luke-warmness was reached. THEN I headed to my freezer…….yep freezer (FYI: this was the point the “thinker” stopped thinking.) I added just the right amount of frozen chocolate chips……”marvelous” was going through my head ~ remember to roll the “r”…… I had my pan all ready to pour that lovely melty Peppermint Bark onto and somewhere between the point of stirring and dumping my. lovely. concoction. become. nearly. rock. hard. I tried my best to spread it, but really, spreading a rock is impossible. Never one to give up too quickly, I popped it in my oven @ 160° and set the timer for 10 minutes and walked away. Phew. It got all shining and wonderfully smooth again. I took my offset spatula and spread it. So very glad that I had not ruined it. Though now, I ended up with swirled Peppermint Bark. I am OK with that. So don’t add frozen chocolate chips to melted Almond  Bark. (Just a gentle reminder, I KNOW we all know better……)

Peppermint Bark 
16 oz. Vanilla Almond Bark
6-8 crushed Candy Canes
3/4 – 1 c. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Melt the almond bark in a double boiler, keeping on eye on it and stirring often till it is shiny and smooth and melted. Take off heat. Let cool a bit, then add the crushed candy canes. Set aside to cool till so very lightly warm (aka ~ luke-warm). Add your chocolate chips (being SURE they are at room temp). Mix, don’t over mix cause the chocolate chips will start to melt. Spread onto a wax paper lined jelly roll pan and spread to the thickness you want. Chill to set. Break into pieces and enjoy!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

