Pure Vanilla Extract

Standard

I SO enjoy the flavor of vanilla. It is my favorite. I usually double the vanilla extract called for in EVERY recipe. IT is. just. that. good.

Then….

a while back, I made the “mistake” of using Pure Vanilla Extract. No going back to imitation which I had been buying from GFS for years.

I KNEW I had to slow down with the vanilla usage or I would have to cut myself off from buying it.

Then…..

my friend’s sister said she made her own vanilla. Well……

I did too and you CAN too! Here is how! Be patient it does take time. Oh, you will enjoy this….I hope.

* My friend purchased the vanilla beans from Amazon. I purchased the vodka. (OK. Fine. I asked my husband to get it for me…..the look on his face WAS priceless!!)  We ended up spending nearly the same amount, I think I had to give her $2 to make it all even.  Maybe you can find a “vanilla” buddy too, it is costly to start, but when it is all said and done you will be getting a WHOLE lot of AWESOME vanilla.

* FYI :  My bottles of choice are ~  For the LARGE one I used my empty Imitation Vanilla Extract Bottle from GFS. For the SMALL one I used my empty Imitation Vanilla Extract Bottle that I purchased from Strack. Though I am sure you could come up with your own bottle. Just be sure it has a tight-fitting lid, as you will be turning the bottle upside down a time or two and shaking…..

* UPDATE* * I fill a bottle with the vodka, add the 10-12 vanilla beans, let set for 2 weeks, pour 1/2 of it out into a smaller bottle. Fill the large bottle with as much vodka as I took out. Let set for 2 weeks, shake, swirl, etc.   Then use the Vanilla (in the large bottle) till it is all gone, as the vanilla beans have given you all they can give.  (In others words, no more Vodka refills :(. Just start a whole NEW batch with new Vanilla Beans! )

The “recipe”.

Pure Vanilla Extract 
4 c. vodka
10 – 12 vanilla beans

Take a sharp knife and carefully split the vanilla bean open, not cutting all the way through, you  just want the beautiful beans exposed (to get even MORE vanilla flavor, you can gently scrap the beans so they are loosened a bit). Put the split vanilla beans in a bottle, with a tight-fitting lid, and add the 4 c. of vodka. Put lid on. Shake a bit. Put in your pantry, and stare at it occasionally, shake once in a while, admire it, swirl it around a bit, be impatient, but BE patient and don’t use for 2 weeks so the flavor has time to develop!!!! Use when Vanilla Extract is called for in ALL of your recipes. Enjoy! I really hope you ENJOY!!!!

Thank YOU Stephanie for telling me about this “recipe”!!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. So maybe this is a stupid question, but is the extract alcoholic? Or does the alcohol evaporate during the two weeks, or does it burn out when you bake it?

    • Maybe this is a silly answer ~ but here it is. Well, Laurie, yes it seems to be alcoholic…….hum…….never really thought ABOUT that. 🙂 Though I would assume that the tsp. used with baking is OK, ANYONE??!?!?!!?!? Wonder what is actually IN pure vanilla you buy from the store…..hummmm…Thanks for making me think. I will get back on that one….. (p.s. NO such thing as stupid questions!) Thanks!

  2. I am with you Bobbi, I only use the pure vanilla too, there is such a big difference. I have to give this a whirl sometime. They sell homemade vanilla at Highland Christian School in the office for $2.00 a bottle in case anyone out there does not want to take the time to make it themselves. I wonder if it is a similar recipe as yours.

    • Thanks Beck for the info! Seems affordable to pick it up there! I am sure they use a recipe similar, or maybe they use Brandy ~ I have heard of that as well. Great fundraiser! (Or at least I am assuming that is what it is for 🙂 )

    • It is a stronger vanilla taste, probably thanks to the wonderful flecks of vanilla bean that are there! 🙂 I will use/make this as often as I can ~ maybe I should make it into a “give-away” for others to try…..hummmm….

Leave a Reply

