Chicken Wild Rice Soup

Standard

I like this recipe. My family likes this recipe. It is soup. Soup is good. (Sounds like I have been reading to many “Dick and Jane” books!!) This soup does not need to simmer the day away, which makes it a quick soup.  My cousin shared this recipe and I probably talk to her about it EVERY time I see her. It is that good. I have started making my “own” cream soup instead of using 2 cans as the original recipe calls for ~ though I THINK she will approve of that change!

* You may use 2 cans of cream of chicken soup in place of the 1st 6 ingredients.

* I prefer to cook the long grain and wild rice about 5 minutes less than the package directions, that way it can finish cooking in the soup.

* This soup thickens upon sitting, may need to add some milk to thin it. It is thick and hearty and filling.

* This soup does NOT do well freezing. The rice swells too much. Just my observation. The leftovers get thick in the fridge, but just thin it out with either some milk or chicken stock.

* NOW. I will tell you what I LIKE to do with rice/noodle soups. To avoid the over cooked noodle/rice issue…….I actually will cook the rice/noodles SEPERATLY, WITHOUT putting it in the actual soup! Place the bowl of rice/noodles on the table, put a spoonful in the bottom of your bowl and top with the soup.  That way you do not have overly cooked noodles/rice. Make sense??

* Serves about 5-6.

Chicken Wild Rice Soup 
4 TB. butter
1/2  c. flour
1 c. hot water
1 tsp. chicken bouillon granules
1 c. milk
pepper to taste
1 box of Uncle Ben’s Long Grain and Wild Rice
2 c. cut up chicken breast, uncooked
2 TB. butter
1/2 c. celery, chopped
1 onion, diced
1 1/2 c. carrots, peeled and chopped
2 2/3 c. milk
3 TB. dried parsley

Melt the butter (4 TB) in a sauce pan, whisk in the flour and chicken bouillon granules, cook and stir for a minute. Slowly add the hot water and stir with whisk, it will thicken quickly. Whisk in the milk, simmer on low to thicken. Season with pepper.  Set aside (or use 2 cans of cream of chicken if you want to go that route).

Cook the rice according to the package directions, I under-cook by about 5 minutes.

Brown the chicken and veggies in the butter (2 TB) till the chicken is cooked through.

Combine the “cream soup”, cooked rice, cooked chicken/veggie mixture and remaining ingredients , bring up to a boil, turn to low and simmer about 15 minutes. Stirring often. You may need to add more milk to thin if desired.

Enjoy!

Thank You Kelly M.  for this wonderful recipe, a very fravrite of mine!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. laaaaw! this looks good! I love your rice /noodle tip!!!so often people /recipes avoid this issue of fattening noodles,and we all know its going to happen!!!Thank You!!!

    • Thanks!!! I hope you try keeping the rice/noodles separate next time a recipe calls for them,
      AND tell me what you think!!! I CANNOT stand fat noodles/rice……

Leave a Reply

