Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

Standard

Ready for a different Pumpkin Pie?

Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie 

Crust:
1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs
5 TB. butter
3 TB. sugar
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice 
Ice Cream Filling: 
2 c. vanilla ice cream
1/2 tsp. cinnamon 
Pumpkin Layer: 
1 c. whipping cream
1 c. canned pumpkin 
3/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. cloves
Sauce: 
store-bought caramel topping for ice cream
OR  Caramel Sauce 

Combine the crust ingredients and press into a greased pie plate. Bake @ 350° for 5 minutes. COOL till 100% cool.  Freeze. 

Put the ice cream in a bowl to soften, add a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and stir to mix well.  Spoon into frozen crust. Freeze….

Beat the whipping cream. Set aside. In a  different bowl, combine the brown sugar, pumpkin and spices. Add to the whipped cream and fold gently till all combined. Spoon over ice cream layer. Freeze at least 3 hours. 

Warm your caramel sauce  and drizzle over individual pieces. Enjoy!

Recipe from Kim K. from the cookbook “Only Good Stuff” ~ with a few of my own changes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. We just enjoyed a slice of this yummy pie tonight! I made it gluten free by using gluten free graham crackers and everyone liked it:) I just wanted to add that this pie is very rich- you only need a small slice to satisfy!

  2. Sounds good Bobbi. I’m wondering if I could double this recipe and put it in a 9×13? I may try that if I have to bring it to a big gathering. I’m also curious about the gluten free graham crackers. Where do you find those?

    • I have not tried if for a 9″ x 13″ pan, though it SHOULD be fine! Let me know IF it works IF you do it!! (Sorry not too helpful on that!) ALSO. I asked my friend were she got the crackers from and this is what she told me “you can get Gluten free graham crackers at Meijer (they have a section of gluten free stuff in the end of the baking aisle.) Also you can find them at Healthy Horizons(health food store in Hammond) or Sunrise Health foods in Lansing. Or you can get online at vitacost.com They are a little cheaper at Meijer.” Hope that helps!

  3. I can’t wait to try this! My mom used to make a very similar recipe and was always one of my favorites. Looking at her recipe its also for a pie pan, but she always made it in a 9×13. Maybe make a bit smaller instead of doubling-maybe 1 1/2 size if that makes sense 🙂 I’ve done this b/f with a different ice cream dessert that was meant for a pie pan. Thanks again for posting wonderful, delicious recipes. I think I’ll work on this one right now!

    • THANK YOU for your wonderful tip about doing JUST a batch and a half ~ that is why I SO enjoy comments 🙂 I WANT it to be helpful to others!!!! I cannot wait to hear how it goes when you make it AND if it turns out being much like your mom’s OR much different ;). (You are welcome AND thank YOU for reading!!)

  4. Hey Bobbi, I thought I would update you on your dessert. I made it in a 9×13 and these are the adjustments I had to make: For the crust I did the same amount as the recipe called for and it worked fine. For the ice cream I did 3 times the amount. I first tried to just double it, but I didn’t think it looked thick enough, so I added more. For the pumpkin and whipped topping I doubled it and I had a little extra left over. So maybe 1 1/2 it if you want, but I probably could have put all of it on and would have been fine! Topped it with your homemade caramel recipe and it was delish! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

