Green Bean Casserole

Standard

Aldi Sales for Nov. 7 ~ 13.

Here are some items that caught my eye THIS week at Aldi. Don’t forget to continue to stock up on the seasonal baking items!!!  I am ALSO noticing that they have all things needed for your Thanksgiving Dinner ~ Stuffing Mix, Green Beans, Instant Potatoes, Gravy, Cream Soups, etc.   

* There is a lovely section of Ham ranging in price from 99¢ to $1.49 per lb.

* Time for Turkey!!! Grab one to serve on Thanksgiving and one to freeze to cook at a later date! I like to cook a whole turkey for us for dinner one night and shred ALL the rest and freeze in 2 c. portions to use later in casseroles, sandwiches, etc. Aldi’s price for Turkey this week is  $1.19 per lb.

* Cream Cheese (99¢), Butter ($1.99), Crescent Rolls (99¢) and Cheese Blocks ($1.49) are the same as last week!

*An 8 oz. container of  Whipped Topping is 89¢.

* A box of 10 Buttermilk Waffles (in the freezer section) is $1.29. A 32 oz. box of Buttermilk Pancake Mix is $1.29.

* 3 lb. bag of Apples is $2.19.

* 2 lb. bag of Pears is $1.69.

* Grapefruits are 39¢ each.

* Banana’s are 29¢ per lb.

* A Pineapple is 99¢.

BEFORE I get to the recipe FOR today. I want to say that I am giddy. Fall makes me giddy. I cannot help it. It is the beginning of the Holiday Festivities. It is cold, it is dark, it is pretty. You have to snuggle to keep warm and drink hot drinks. You get to eat fall foods. Cook in your crock pot. Wear hoodies that probably fit your husband BETTER than yourself. Candles are lit.  Deer are easier to spot. Memories are made. Do you like fall? Does it make you feel “twitterpayted”??? (Or excited I should say…..pardon my “Bambi” lingo.) I want to hear your favorite or least favorite part about fall!!!   I will start.   Well.  I like everything. Sorry I cheated.

Now a Thanksgivingish Recipe with ALL ingredients available at Aldi!

Some of us have grown up with the oh so traditional “Green Bean Casserole” ~ you know the one, with cream soup, milk, green beans and the crispy fried onions?!?!? That was always one I enjoyed (still do), my family as well (why does it seem that I need to “hide” veggies IN some kind of sauce or dressing or something for the kids to eat it better?!?!?!)

I have been enjoying making my own cream soup, with much success, avoiding using canned cream soup, if I can ~ so this recipe caught my eye! This is a bit of a different from the more traditional recipe with the sour cream and crunchy corn flakes. It is a keeper. See ya later old recipe, hello new….oh, hey, if you really like those crunchy fried onions, you can STILL add them to the topping, no problem! 😉

Green Bean Casserole 
1/4 c. butter
1/2 c. onion, chopped fine
2 TB. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. sour cream
2 cans of green beans, drained
1 c. cheddar cheese
1 1/2 c. crushed corn flakes
cooking spray
Melt the butter, add the onions and cook a minute or two. Add the flour, salt and pepper, whisk till smooth. Add the milk, cook till thickened ~ add the sour cream and heat through. Add the green beans and stir to combine. Pour into a greased baking dish, I used my 7″ x 11″ pan. Top with shredded cheddar cheese, than corn flake crumbs. Spray the crumbs, carefully (if you spray to close the crumbs with go a flyin’, with the cooking spray. Bake @ 350* for 20-30 (Mine was cold cause I made it early in the day, so it took closer to 30, if you are making it and baking it right away, it will probably only take 20.) minutes or till hot and bubbly. Enjoy!!

Recipe adapted from Peace Potluck Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Totally fine, everyone is entitled to their own opinions! 🙂 I have said from the beginning that ALL comments are welcome. Not everyone has the same tastes and that is fine! Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂 (You are right, not the best picture I have ever taken……sorry!)

  1. mmmmmmmm sounds good!!!
    I too like recipes that do not use cream soups…
    and I too love fall….for all the same reasons that you do..
    I remember when we had school age kids and they would bring home alot of thanksgiving type crafts and papers and it was a good reminder that Thanksgiving was coming—not just skipping right over that holiday and rushing christmas …

    • No, NEVER forget about Thanksgiving!!! Oh, those Thanksgiving crafts are so precious. I actually have saved some from year to year cause I so enjoy them!!! (They make fun decorations!) Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

