Mocha White Chocolate

Standard

My “hot” drink of choice is USUALLY Hot Chocolate or my specialty ~ Hot Chocolate with a Touch of Coffee (a quite simple recipe in fact, 2 parts Hot Chocolate to 1/8 part Coffee ~ OK so I just totally made that up, I really just add the coffee so I can call it a “mom drink” ~ which means the kids cannot drink it all. Well, that IS the goal……well, and the goal is to eventually be able to drink a cup of coffee with my husband and/or mom!))

Anywho….

Then I tried this. OK. So it still isn’t overwhelming coffee. But is HAS it in it. It still tastes a bit like coffee and it has a “fancy” name ~ you know, a coffee-like name. I would enjoy it if you tried it and let me know what you think. A fun drink in your home when YOU want it…don’t forget a fun mug! Enjoy!

* The milk in my house is skim, so that is what I used.  I would think you could use whatever milk you have ~ I think that 2 % would make it be a bit richer.

* I drizzled with Caramel Sauce, then added a touch more. The caramel sauce here is nice,  because is has a touch of salt added in ~ making it almost a Salted Caramel Mocha White Chocolate.

Mocha White Chocolate
1 c. milk
1/3 c. white chocolate chips
1/2 TB. instant coffee granules
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
whipped cream or Cool Whip as a garnish, opt.
Cocoa Powder sprinkled on top as a garnish, opt.
Caramel Sauce to drizzle on top as a garnish, opt.

Heat the milk and white chocolate chips in a small sauce pan on low, keep an eye on it and stir often as the chocolate chips sink and you do not what then to burn to the bottom of the pan.

When heated through and chocolate is melted, add the instant coffee granules. Stir. Heat till bubbles form around the edge of the pan (do not bring to a boil). Remember to stir a number of times. Take off heat and add vanilla.

Pour into a fun mug. Top with a dollop of Cool Whip and a sprinkle of cocoa powder or a drizzle of caramel. (Add more caramel if you want too…..) Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

  1. This is AWESOME! Just made a double batch for the kids and I to enjoy on this cold rainy day when they get home from school.

    • FUN!!! Bummed that I did not think to do that today!!! Though I am sure that there will be plenty more cold and dark and rainy/snowy days coming up!!! THANKS!!

    • Good call on the caramel flavoring syrup! That is something I haven’t ever tried, I just reached for the caramel sauce in my fridge ~ the flavoring syrup PROBABLY is a better call seeing that it IS for coffee drinks! Thanks for the hint *that IS why I enjoy the comment section so much ~ I hope others find it helpful as well! :)* Thanks for reading and commenting!!! AS far as doubling the coffee, good call for coffee drinkers, I am ACTUALLY just learning to like it ~ probably why I used a bit less. 🙂

Leave a Reply

