Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

EVERY blog needs a chocolate chip cookie recipe, right? About time I share the one I use most often. I don’t exclusively use it, cause I like to make a variety of different cookies ~ but these are up there on the “favorite” list as far as chocolate chip cookies go!

* 99.9% of the time I chill my cookie dough overnight. Maybe this does something good to them or maybe I just do it cause I like to make the dough one day and bake another…….. just a habit I have started and don’t want to break.  Anyone know IF this IS beneficial TO the dough or is it just me who does it?

* These cookies have a nice crunch around the edges yet are chewy in the middle, for your salivating pleasure…..

* Yields about 50-55 cookies, depending on your size and dough sneak-ability. I use my Pampered Chef cookie scoop. 

Chocolate Chip Cookies 
1 c. white sugar
1 c. brown sugar
1 c. margarine or butter (2 sticks) (OR see here for a slight change!)
3/4 c. oil
1 egg
1 TB. milk
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
4 c. flour
12 oz. bag of chocolate chips (I used mini this ↑ time)

Beat the sugars, margarine or butter and oil till light and smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and mix till smooth (fold in the chocolate chips lastly). Chill overnight, opt.

Scoop onto cookie sheets and bake @ 350° for 11 minutes (at least that is how long I like to bake). Let  cool for a few minutes on the cookie sheet then put on a cooking rack to cool all the way. 

Recipe adapted from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor. 

NOW…for a slight variation!


A friend pointed this cookie out to me. I OF COURSE gave it a go almost immediately!! Later, upon comparison, I realized that it was the same as the one above with 1 slight change!!! You CAN actually see a difference in the pictures, funny how one different ingredient makes a difference! (I will be making this variation from now on!! Though I will still keep my extra vanilla  addition and flour upgrade…..)  Thanks Melissa for teaching me something new to add to the best chocolate chip cookies EVER!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. I know butter does make a difference. But my budget just does not allow it – we do cash envelopes. Margarine used to work great when I was younger and first married (13 yrs). But they have changed it now. I tell my kids that if ever I get to the point of having extra I would buy butter. 🙂 My kids eat cookies pretty quickly so I try not to stress about it too much.

    • Butter IS a treat, but as you said not so budget friendly 😦 To tell you the TRUTH, I rarely use butter…I have a small handful of recipes that I will make ONLY when I have butter. Else, my cookies always have margarine ~ as you said, kids gobble them up SO quickly they don’t even notice!! Bummer that good things have to be expensive…thanks for reading and commenting!!!! 🙂

  2. Crisco Definately makes a difference in cookies…by the way Crisco & Butter flavor Crisco are in the by 5 get $5 group in Strack this week:)…sorry Bobbi I couldn’t resist adding that!:)

    • No problem about the Strack pitch, you know that I will be getting the Butter Flavor Crisco…..the regular is STILL cheaper at Aldi…..sorry……I coudn’t resist adding ;). (Funny how something SO gross so be made into something so so yummy!)

  3. I think it is bebnfical to refridgerate the dough…,often a recipe will say to chill the dough..I think it may be strickly for the cold dough bakes a better cookie.Maybe I will google this and see if i come up with something more scientific…..thanks BOBBI

    • I will keep chillin’ my dough, glad to hear that others do it too and it IS a good thing…..not just a way to sneak dough…..2 days in a row!!!! (bad I know….) Let me know if you find anything more scientific! I will be waiting on pins and needles to hear what you find out 😉 !

  4. I have found that chilling the dough in the fridge works. It makes them more flavorful because the flavors meld together when they sit. I usually do this overnight for the best results.
    I really like your blog! Good job.

Leave a Reply

