Twice Baked Potato Casserole

Standard

SO this recipe is dedicated to my Aunt Sher. I needed to share this with her in case some 8 year-ish-older  (not sure on my  that certain child’s age) asks her to make “twice baked potatoes” (that certain youngster probably didn’t say please or an adequate thank you either.  I am SURE she WAS appreciative and MENT to say “please” and “thank you”!!)

A story….

Now that I am a mom to school age children I understand to a degree the busyness of after school and evenings. Well, my aunt was watching my brother and I, and well, probably at 4 o’clock Aunt Sheryl asked me what kind of potatoes we like. I am sure she expected me to respond with “mashed is fine”. No. I said “we like twice baked.” I am sure all she was thinking was…um…..um…..OK. (Those do take a bit of time and prep and we only ate them ONCE in a while….FYI) Well, she made them. I am sure they were fantastic, as is EVERYTHING she makes. Oh, the innocence of youth. We don’t think of the work it takes to get those delicious meals on that table!!! That will forever be one of my favorite stories, of course I don’t remember it…I was told of it years later and Aunt Sher, thank you AND I am sorry……for making MORE work for you!!

To bad I wasn’t keyed into the things  in the kitchen 20 some odd years ago….I would have known not to ask for that dish!  I hope OTHERS who love Twice Baked Potatoes will enjoy the ease of this recipe as well!!

(If you do not know of this said Twice Baked Potato I am referring to, PLEASE let me know and I will share the REAL recipe ASAP!!!!!)

* You may or may NOT use the bacon or chives, it is good with or without!

Twice Baked Potato Casserole 

6 c. – 8 c.  of unpeeled, diced  red or white potatoes
8 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded
4 oz. softened cream cheese
1/2 c. sour cream
salt & pepper to taste
4 slices of bacon, cooked crispy and cut up, opt.
fresh or dried chives, to taste of well, opt.

Boil the cubed potatoes JUST till barely tender, do not over cook or you will have mashed potatoes (IF this happens you are fine, just re-name it Loaded Mashed Potatoes or something cool like that.) Drain.

Meanwhile, combine the cheddar cheese (save 1/2 c. for the top), softened cream cheese, sour cream, s & p, bacon and chives. Add the hot drained potatoes to this mixture, stir gently. Spread in a greased 7″ x 11″ pan. Top with the reserved cheddar cheese.

Bake @ 350° for about 40 minutes.

Serve and Enjoy.  Serves about 6.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Oh, Bobbi!! the innocence of youth!!! and I never thought anything of it!!!! Just made them!!! they really aren’t much work anyway…..Thank you for dedicateing this to me…I feel so special!!!!

  2. Bobbi, These look spectacular. Wait about 6 years and you will be doubling this recipe with all them boys. Can’t wait to try them!!! Yes, you do owe your aunt an apology! They are a pain to make, and mine always turn out gluey.
    THANKS!!

    • Thanks! I KNOW, can you even fathom how much young men eat??? (Kidding, I KNOW you know!!) Thanks for reading and commenting!!! 🙂 (I hope, IF you try these, that you enjoy!!!)

  3. I made these last night and they were very yummy! My oldest had three helpings – I love finding different ways to make potatoes!
    Thanks
    carrie

    • YEAH! I am so glad you made and that your kids enjoyed them so much! That is the TRUE test of good food in this house, kid approved!!! I too like to find new potato recipes! Thanks Carrie!!

  4. This has become my “go to” potato of choice! My son requested for Sunday supper tomorrow so working on it right now. For us, we like the Loaded Mashed Potato version! Either way they are simply delicious!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

