Taco Seasoning

Standard

It happened again. I say again, BECAUSE this is NOT the first time this has happened to me. I went to make tacos and no taco seasoning packets and my taco  seasoning “Rubbermaid” was empty. No prob, the ingredients for this homemade taco seasoning are seasonings we generally all have on hand! I hope this recipe will help YOU TOO when you are planning tacos and your pantry fails you……

*If your family members and not “heat” fans, then start with 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper.  Adjusting as needed.

* Start with 1 TB. of the seasoning to 1 lb. meat. Taste, see if you want to add more. I tend to go for 1 1/2 TB’s. 

Taco Seasoning
2 TB. chili powder

1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. onion powder
1/4 – 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. paprika
1 TB. cumin
3/4 tsp. salt
2 tsp. pepper
1 TB. minced onion

Mix together and in a jar. Brown your ground beef or ground turkey, drain and add 1-2 TB’s  of mix and 1/2 c. water. Simmer for a few minutes to thicken. (Adding a bit more liquid IF it dries out too quickly.)

Serve on tortillas or taco shells with favorite taco toppings. Enjoy. 

Recipe adapted from a recipe from the cookbook Tried & True, Real Recipes from Real Mom’s.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. I have made this before and it is great. I used to make it a lot because most of the taco seasoning packets contain MSG and sometimes other additives. So this is a great recipe to have on hand.

    • I like to make things like this, I know what is in it and I know I have the ingredients to make it on hand! I am glad you have made it before and enjoyed! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

