Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars & Date Nut Bread

Standard

Aldi Sales for the week of Oct. 24- Oct 30.

(AS ALWAYS, this is NOT a complete list of items in ad ~ just some items that jumped out at me. Check out the complete ad here.)

* “Switch & Save” ~ that is the theme for the ad this week. Check it out here.

* Honey Crisp Apples. $2.49 per lb.   A 3 lb. bag of Apples is $1.99.  Caramel Apples, a 3 pack is $1.39. (Note: Apples are an optional ingredient for the recipe down below↓.)

*A 2 lb. bag of pears is $1.49.

* Grapes are 89¢ per lb. (Comes in a 2 lb. container.)

* Snag a pineapple for 99¢. Yum.

* Blueberry and Apple Pie Fillings are $2.49 each. (Note: Apple Pie Filling is an optional ingredient for the recipe below↓.)

* Dates are $1.99. (Note: Used for the recipe below↓.)

* Chocolate Chips ~ semi-sweet, butterscotch, white chocolate or milk chocolate are $1.29 for 11-12 oz. bags. 🙂

* Buttermilk Pancake Mix is $1.29 for a 32 oz. box.

* Holiday  Baking Spices! It does NOT list which ones they have, but, needless to say ~ NOW is the time to stock up. Each container is $1.69.

Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars

Cheesecake + Apples + Oatmeal crumble + Caramel = yumminess.
Fall treats are fantastically delish!!!

* This recipe comes from my sis-in-law. I HOWEVER did not look at the recipe before shopping….which is against EVERY rule in the unwritten book of smartness. So I had to make my own crust (well….OK. I took the general recipe from a bar recipe from my grandma…..esshh. I cannot get away with anything!!) and my own apple pie filling. To follow her easier directions …..just……make these notes….

  1. Instead of my 1st 6 ingredients in the crust section, use 1 Betty Crocker Oatmeal Cookie Mix. 
  2. Instead of my Apple Pie Filling recipe, use 1-2 cans of Apple Pie Filling (I used about 3 c.)

* PLEASE note that these bars do get soggy sorta quickly, so be sure to make them no more than one day before you plan on serving them. (Tho we had NO problem eating them ALL up!)

* The recipe for Apple Pie Filling below will give you more than you need for this recipe….no worries, just eat it. Ha.

* I did not give you a measurement for cinnamon in the Apple Pie Filling, cause well, I have no idea how much I use…opps, sorry…a good good good shake for me, I like it cinnamony, but maybe you should start with a shake, taste and go from there ~ adding more if needed!

Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars 

Crust: 
1 1/4 c. flour
1 1/4 c. quick oats
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 c. butter
Cream Cheese Filling : 
16 oz. softened cream cheese
1/2 c. sugar
2 TB. flour
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
Apple Pie Filling : 
7 apples, peeled, cored and cut up
3/4 c. sugar
3 TB. flour
good sprinkle of cinnamon
1 tsp. lemon juice
1/4 – 1/2 c. water
Caramel Drizzle, opt.

IF making your own pie filling, start with that so it has time to cool. Mix the apples, sugar, flour,  cinnamon, lemon juice and 1/4 c. of water. Simmer over low heat till apples are tender and sauce has thickened. I usually end up adding another 1/4 c. of water. Cool. (At least to warm.)

Combine the crust ingredients, cutting in the butter as you would for a pie crust. Take out 1 1/2 c. of the crumbs, set aside. This will be for the topping.  Press the remaining crumbs into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake @ 350° for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, beat the softened cream cheese till smooth. Beat in the sugar, flour, vanilla and egg till smooth. Pour over crust.

Top with about 3 c. of apple pie filling. Sprinkle with remaining crumbs and bake for 35 – 40 more minutes.

Cool. Chill for at least 6 hours. Drizzle servings with Caramel Sauce IF you want to. Enjoy!!!

Thanks Mary for making these fabulous bars that made my husband say “hey, did you try these??? They are good. Real good.” ~ thanks for a stellar recipe!!

Date Nut Bread

I DO realize that this IS an “old-fashioned” baked good, but I am fine with that. I like it and it is good. My family enjoys it too.   Go ahead and call me “old-fashioned” ~ I will even wear those fun full dresses and aprons…but PLEASE don’t take away my washer and fridge/freezer!!
Date Nut Bread
1 cup chopped dates
1 cup hot water
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 stick margarine
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup chopped nuts  (I didn’t use)
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
Mix all ingredients together. Bake in 3 greased tin cans for 50 minutes at 350°. (Note: these are the directions from way back when, when people baked in tin cans. Maybe you still do, I, myself NEVER have.  I baked mine in a 4″ x 8″ loaf pan for about 55 minutes. ALSO. I think the intent is for you to 1st soak the dates in the hot water for a few minutes and THEN add all the rest of the ingredients.)
Serve warmed with butter.
Recipe from Mom W.

Now. A Question. Speaking of “old-fashioned” ~ What modern convenience would you miss the most?? (Think about the “Little House, long skirts, sleeping under a handmade quilt, snuggling by the fire, make your own clothes” days… they really  did NOT have any of the “luxuries that we enjoy. What would you miss??)

Oh….I guess that was not a food/recipe related question. How about another? What is YOUR favorite fall food??!!!??

:0) Looking forward to hearing what you have to say!! SORRY no prize involved, this is just for the shear fun of things!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. I like heat, I love to sit by a fire but I would not want to have to rely on it to keep me and my whole house warm. The last time I made date bread I was out of brown sugar but I did have splenda brown sugar so I used that. You really could not tell the difference unless you are highly sensitive to the taste of artificial sweeteners however, I noticed the color of my bread was not as pretty as the color of your bread so maybe the artificial brown sugar does not give things as pretty a brown color.

  2. My mother always made date /nut bread in tin cans.. They make a really nice round loaf to cut
    and put on a serving plate… Also raisin bread the same way…
    Grandma Witvoet

  3. ok, so this isn’t a memory…but a “favorite thing from Aldi” i just saw they had!! MARSHMALLOW CREME! This is a family recipe i LOVE, but seldom make b/c of the price of MMC…. We call them grant bars (b/c they are my cousin grants favorite) however, maybe more filling chocolate mallow bars…. Preheat oven to 350. take 1/2 c butter, 1/2 t baking pwdr, 1 c sugar, 2 eggs, 1 t vanilla, 3/4 c flour, 1/4 c cocoa. Mix and put in a 9×13. Bake for 20 min.
    add 1 container MMC and bake for 3 more minutes
    Melt 1 c choco chips, 1 c pb. Add 2 cups Rice Krispies. Spread (more like drop in tiny bits…) over the MMC after it’s baked. Cool in fridge. Cut & SERVE…..
    I’ve not had the cocoa and used 1/2 a box cake recipe..works too….but just not quite as good….(but then you end up with some cupcakes, too 😉 )

    • Yummmm! Thanks! Really bummed I just made a different bar and even MORE bummed that I gave my kids marshmallow fluff pb sandwiches…..now I do NOT have a whole jar! At least Aldi will carry it for a little while now. Thanks for sharing!!! I WILL be making….soon!

Leave a Reply

