A Guest Post, Give-Away Winner Announced AND Ham & Cheese Crescent Rolls ( Lunch Box Series Part 4) and Raisin Bread Grilled Sandwich

Standard

My friend Lisa is doing a fun series called “31 Days of $aving Money in the Kitchen” and she asked me to do a guest post about Aldi. I had a lot of fun with it! Check out the posts here and here. AND be sure to check out her “31 Series”! I have enjoyed reading it and I hope you do too!

Thanks to those who participated in the fall give-away!! I want you to know that I really appreciated the time you took to “enter” ~ it was both fun and helpful to me!!!  (OH, and honestly any kinda comment , good, bad, helpful, funny IS FUN!!! Thanks!) The randomly chosen winner is…….drum roll, please……

Carrie for this comment ~ “Nice idea Bobbi! Not only do you give us good recipes to use, you also are giving us gifts! :) And YES, I like your Aldi stuff that you post. I have added to my grocery list many times since you started doing that! Keep it up!”

Carrie, let me know what you would enjoy, the Pumpkin Pie Spice OR Caramel Sauce.  🙂  Either let me know here in the comment section or at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com. Thanks!!

Another quick, easy, delicious “sandwich” to pack in your kids lunches heading YOUR way! 

* Add whatever cheese your kids like, whatever meat, or sauce (like pizza sauce….then add mozzarella cheese and pepperoni), use you imagination or let your kids pick!!

* Land o’ Lakes deli american cheese works GREAT with these. Melts real good. Or use a “harder” cheese, like cheddar or Colby jack or pepper jack. 

Ham & Cheese Crescent Rolls 
1 pkg. refrigerated crescent rolls 
4 slices of ham, cut in half
4 slices of cheese, cut in half

Unroll the crescent roll dough into 8 triangles. Top with a half slice of cheese and a half slice of ham (or load on as MUCH as you want to!).  Roll up into a crescent shape and bake @ 375° for about 13-15 minutes. Cool. Pack in lunch box.  (I make the day before.) Enjoy!!

Recipe from Kristen. Genius. 

How about a savory sandwich made out of raisin bread?

Oh, good, you are still here! I know I know….sounds CRAZY. IT is good. I usually make it for myself for lunch. One of my little guys usually snags some of it though! One night, however, I sheepishly made it for dinner along with real grilled cheese. Thinking my husband wouldn’t notice and ask “WHAT are you eating??” Well…. he noticed….and ate one…….drummmroll….he liked it! It is savory and sweet and good. (I think.)

* This is one of those recipe I promised you when I told you about Pepper Jelly.

* I use whatever cheese I have. The original recipe calls for Havarti, I have used, cheddar, monetary jack, pepper jack and  swiss. Just use what you like. Maybe NOT American or velveeta, THAT would not be right. 

* I have used turkey lunch meat as well. 

Raisin Bread Grilled Sandwich
4 slices of cinnamon-raisin bread

2 TB. pepper jelly
4 slices of deli chicken breast
3 oz. of cheese of choice (Ex. Havarti, cheddar, pepper jack, swiss)
1 TB. soft butter  

Spread two slices of bread with pepper jelly. Layer with chicken and cheese, top with the remaining bread slices. Butter the outside of the sandwiches. 

In a large skillet, over medium heat, toast sandwiches 2-3 minutes per side, or until cheese is melted and bread is browned. Enjoy. 

Serves 2. 

Recipe from Taste of Home. 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. I love this post because it is a great memory of a fun saturday when Kristen magically whipped up the ham&cheese crescents for like all 10 of us and they were delicious!! And the grilled raisin bread sandwich looks delish and I love to have another use for that yummy pepper jelly!:)

  2. Mmmm…..never thought about using pepper jelly on a sandwich….I’ll have to try that one! (so here’s my comment….got too busy to comment on a post for the giveaway….) 🙂

    • I TOTALLY gave everyone an extra 2 hours!! You JUST missed the give-away by mere moments…..sorry!!! (See…commenting is NOT that hard!!! 😉 ) Thanks a bunch!!!!!

    • Thanks! I come from YEARS of avoiding sandwiches of any kind in my school lunch…..so I too am enjoying!! Hoping it is helpful and fun for others too! Thanks for reading AND thanks for inviting me to do a guest post!! Fun!

  3. Really!?! AWESEOME!! I will go for the Caramel Sauce seeing as I’m all set on the pie spice thanks to your post on how to make your own! THANKS!!!

Leave a Reply

