Stuffed Acorn Squash

Standard

I cannot seem to get enough squash this time of year. How about you?? Do you have any certain way you enjoy eating squash?  A fun recipe to share??? This looks fancy, but is simple to put together, I loved the sweetness from the cranberries…..the sausage…the squash….the spinach…sweet red pepper…OH, I just enjoyed it all! I hope you do too!!! (Have I mentioned that I LOVE fall recipes????)

Now, I will be honest and say that I am the only one in my family who enjoys squash ~ acorn or butternut.  BUT they all enjoy the filling, so I bake a batch in a pan for them without the squash and enjoy the squash ALL myself….they don’t know what they are missing!!!!

* As far as the rice goes, I used leftover brown rice. Feel free to use whatever you have ~ white, brown, wild ~ it is all good.

Stuffed Acorn  Squash 
1 acorn squash
1/2 lb. sausage
1/3 c. onion, chopped (I used red)
1/2 c. red pepper, chopped
1 egg
2 TB. milk
1 c. fresh spinach, cut up a bit
1/2 c. bread crumbs
1/2 c. cooked rice
1/2 c. cranberries
salt & pepper to taste

Cut the acorn squash in half, clean out the seeds. Put cut side down in a 9″ x 13″ pan and fill with about 1 inch of water. Cover tightly. Bake @ 350* for about 45 minutes to 1 hour, till tender.

Meanwhile, cook the sausage with the onion and red pepper. Till no longer pink. Drain. Add the egg (beaten), milk, spinach, bread crumbs, rice, cranberries, salt & pepper. Stir to combine.

Flip the acorn squash halves over and fill with the sausage filling. Bake, uncovered, @ 350* for about 40 minutes till filling it HOT and starting to brown on the top and the squash is soft. You can either eat it out of the shell or scoop it onto your plate. Enjoy!

Last days to partake in the Fall Give-away!!! Thanks to ALL for your fun/helpful/kind/enjoyable comments. I love it!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

11 responses »

  1. This looks so good Bobbi! Hopefully I’ll have a chance to try it when we are in our new house in a few weeks…hopefully squash will still be in season?

    • Thanks! I think that farm stands generally stay open through Reformation Day, and they have the BEST priced squash. Else, I think we should see it in the stores for a while yet?!?!? I hope!!! 🙂 Hope it goes well getting settled! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. This looks so yummy, Bobbi! This is so my type of recipe, I hope to try it real soon:) Thanks so much for seasonal recipes.

    • My type of thing too! That is why I have NO problem making it and EATING all the leftovers. Yum. Yum. I hope you enjoy it as well!!! I so so enjoy seasonal foods!!! Thanks and thanks for reading!!!! 🙂

  3. This looks delicious. I just have to get my hands on some squash. Lately I shop at Aldi almost exclusively, so I’ll have to go hunting. 🙂 Thanks, Bobbi!

    • Thanks 🙂 Aldi DID have acorn squash a few weeks back….at a GREAT price! I am HOPING they get it again!! Keep your eyes peeled and I will FOR SURE give a shout out on my “Aldi Ad Day” if and when I see it!! Miss you!! Thanks for commenting and reading!!!! 🙂

  4. that looks Sooooo good! not to mention beautiful! looks like a meal in itself, Can’t wait to make that one, There’s just not enough time to make all these yummy recipes!

    • Thanks. Did you eat some of this?? I think you did. I actually want some right now……fall foods can stretch AALLLLL through winter as far as I am concerned. So good. 🙂

    • I used Pork Sausage ~ the kind in the roll that you generally use for breakfast. I cooked the whole pound up and used one half for this recipe and the other half a pound I froze to use with eggs or an egg casserole another day! Thanks for asking! (Thanks also for the idea ~ I think Italian Sausage would be fantastic in this too!!!)

Leave a Reply

