Tomato Zucchini Casserole

Standard

Aldi Savings for Oct. 17 – Oct. 23. 

* Lets start about with the tomato products.  (These are things I plan on grabbing.)

  • Roasted Red Peppers.  A 12 oz. jar is $1.89.
  • Italian Style Diced Tomatoes. A 14. 5 oz. can is 59¢.
  • Alfredo Sauce. A 15 oz. jar is $1.69.  
  • Pasta Sauce. A 24 oz. jar is 99¢!!

* Ok. So now we have the sauce or sauce fixin’s. Lets move on to the noodles…..

  • We’ve got ~ Sphaghetti Noodles, Elbow Macaroni or Angel Hair Pasta. A 32 oz. box is $1.49. 
  • Farfalle (cute bow ties) or Tri – Color Rotini Noodles. A 12 oz. box is 99¢.
  • Tortelloni (IS there a difference between this and Tortellini?? Anyone?). I will get a package to make Spinach Tortellini Salad. It is $1.99 for an 8.8 oz. package. OR grab the Frozen Cheese Tortellini, a 19 oz. package is $2.49. I have not tried this yet, but plan on grabbing a package. Has anyone tried it?

* Moving along with the Italian themed meal. Every pasta dish needs a bread…..or at least that is the un-written pasta rule in this house. 

  • Plain Bread Sticks with Garlic and Herb Spread, sounds like it might fit the bill. It is a 10.6 oz. tube, that looks like a crescent roll tub, pop it open and bake and walaa ~ warm bread sticks for dinner.  ($1.79)

* Oh. Yes. Wine. Well, to know me it  to know that I am NO pro at that. There are some shown in the ad.  

  • Chianti, Pinot Grigio are both $4.99. (750 ml.)
  • Lambrusco is $6.99. (1.5 L.)
  • Chianti is also available for $9.99. (1.5 L.) 
  • TRUTH. I will pick up the Winking Owl, have tried most of them, and we enjoy. I like to use for cooking as well. Those are usually around $2.89. I really don’t know much about names or the above listed wines. Maybe someone ELSE can offer suggestions. Wine with Italian food can be a treat! (Winking Owl NOT in ad, this is always in the store.)

*Let us NOT forget salad!!!

  • Italian or Caesar Salad is 79¢ for a 10 oz. bag. 
  • Chop up some mushrooms (49¢ for 8 oz. package), green peppers ($1.29 for a 3 pack) and tomatoes ($1.29 for a 16 oz. package) for your SALAD! Or use as pizza toppings!

*Also grab a package of  mushrooms to make a lovely Mushroom Side Dish
* Grab extra tomatoes and zucchini for the recipe below ↓ as well. 

* SNACKS. 

  • Baked Potato Chips. Comes in Original or Cheddar & Sour Cream, a 9 oz. bag is $1.79
  • Kettle Corn. Kettle Corn. Ket.ttle. Cor.n. A 9 oz. bag is $1.99. 

* Drinks.

  • Any one every try the Diet Green Tea With Citrus?? Is it like the Lipton brand?? A package of twelve 16.9 oz. bottles is $3.89.

Don’t forget the give-away…..only 5 days 4 hours 3 minutes and 10 seconds left…..OH so kidding. I have no idea how much longer. You have till Monday (Oct. 22) noon to enter!!!!

Tomato Zucchini Casserole

I really enjoyed this way of prepared zucchini.  Grab the recipe here at bookcooking.net and enjoy!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Yeah! I hope you enjoy, it was a nice change from the “normal” saute’d zucchini (which is STILL fantastic!!) (Funny, I actually didn’t notice how nicely this fits in with the current Aldi ad ~ with all their Italian products!! Thanks for pointing that out! Thanks for reading!)

  1. The Lipton green tea with lemon is the one Grandpa has been drinking for years and can
    be bought fairly cheap if you watch the sales.
    Grandma

    • Thanks Grandma! Yeah, I now that you say that I remember that Grandpa likes to drink this, Aaron likes to drink this occasionally in the summer. Wonder if Grandpa has ever TRIED the Aldi brand, wonder if it is AS good as Lipton?!!?? Thanks for commenting and reading!!! 🙂

  2. This just looks delicous!!! I happened to get a fresh grown garden Zuc from my friend !!!this will be soon on the menu!!! and I appreciated the aldi info–i always look at the add –but sometimes in a skimmng fashion.There were lots of good things in this ad!!!

    • You friend is STILL getting home-grown zucs???? JEALOUS!!!! I actually miss the stuff!!! This was a stellar ad, I will agree! I hope this dish is “real real”!!! Thanks…… 🙂

Leave a Reply

