Caramel Corn

Standard

(Don’t forget about the give-away!!! I would love it if you took a moment to check it out or tell your family/friends about it! REMEMBER that IF you “like” on Facebook, “follow” here on this page, or add a comment to ANOTHER page, then let me know here…..it IS from the actual give-away posts comments that I will randomly choose the winner!! Thanks!)

I think of Caramel Corn in the fall. Not sure why? Wonder IF there is a reason why I do, anyone know or anyone else LOVE caramel corn in the fall???  I have FAILED way to many times when making Caramel Corn that I usually turn to my good ol’ favorite Caramel Puffs. Though, I have now landed upon a fantastically easy recipe, one that has crunch even 3 days AFTER you make it!!  We are always wanting snacks in this house and this one fits the bill!!

* One batch of this only calls for 8 c. of popcorn + the nuts, that really isn’t enough to last more than one snack so I doubled.  

* IF DOUBLING then use 3/4 c. dry popcorn kernels (though cook on the stove top in 2 batches, you will have much more success this way!!) if choosing to pop your own. 

Caramel Corn 
8 c. popped popcorn (this is about 1 bag microwave or pop in fresh)
1/2 c. pecan halves
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. brown sugar (any time I say brown sugar, I mean it should be packed) 
1/2 tsp. salt (use 3/4 tsp. for unsalted popcorn)

Place the popped popcorn in a large bowl and set aside.

Place the pecans and almonds on a cookie sheet and bake @ 350° for 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

In a sauce pan combine the butter, brown sugar and salt, melt but do not bring to a boil. Stir briskly to blend well. 

Remove the nuts from the oven and add to the popcorn. Pour the butter mixture over the popcorn mixture and stir with a large spoon to coat evenly.  Spread out as thinly as possible on a greased cookie sheet (use 2 sheets IF doubling) and bake @ 350° for 10 minutes. Take out of oven and cool slightly. Remove from pan with a spatula. Cool all the way. It will continue to crisp up as it cools all the way. 

Enjoy!!

Recipe from “Aunt Bea’s Mayberry Cookbook” a treasured cookbook that I found for my mom, not sure if I will ever beat that steal of a deal…… I will not tell the price…..but if you guess, that is FINE. * Hint* It was less than 26¢ but more than 24¢ !!! 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

