Pumpkin Pie Spice & Caramel Sauce AND A Give Away!!

Standard

(Note: Give-away closed.)

((If looking for a caramel sauce, try this one, I much prefer it to the one below.))

Some flavors of Fall, don’t have ’em? Make ’em!

I ran out of Pumpkin Pie Spice. I RAN OUT OF PUMPKIN PIE SPICE. Now, this might not be a big deal to you. I however LOVE the stuff. My favorite spice blend. Last year Aldi sold containers of it at a nice price, will they again? I do not know. Do I want to buy an expensive container of it? NO. I went back to my handy-dandy recipe file. Found a recipe I have used before from allrecipes. Tho this time I added cloves. It was great. I just filled my empty Pumpkin Pie Spice jar and now I have some!! Good to go.

* Try it out in Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins!

Pumpkin Pie Spice Blend 
4 TB. cinnamon
4 tsp. nutmeg
4 tsp. ginger
3 tsp. allspice
1 tsp. cloves

Mix together and put in a container, store in your spice cabinet. Use when Pumpkin Pie Spice in called for.  Enjoy. 

Recipe adapted from allrecipes

I made a bar a little while ago that called for Caramel Sauce. WELL. Did I have it you wonder? OF COURSE not. Thankful to have THIS wonderful Caramel Sauce that I usually use for ice cream……and guess what?!?!?! I had all the ingredients needed!!!  It worked great as a topping on the bars!

* This is great over ice cream, as an apple dip,  by the spoonful, or drizzled over apple crisp or cheesecake ~ it IS delish!!

Caramel Sauce 
6 TB. of BUTTER (not margarine!)
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 c. heavy whipping cream
pinch of salt
1/2 TB. vanilla extract

Bring the butter, brown sugar, heavy whipping cream and salt to a boil in a medium sauce pan. Boil 3 minutes. Till it is thickened and a nice caramel color. Remember to stir always as sugar burns QUICKLY!

Take off the heat and add the vanilla. Stir, DO NOT taste….yet. ouch. Let cool to warm and serve, or put in fridge for another day. May warm up just a touch for easy drizzling or dipping. Enjoy. 

How about a GIVE-AWAY!!!!???

SO…..mostly because I like you guys, I like that you are Favorite Family Food readers, I like to make things, I like to give ~ well, and cause I want to DRAG comments out of you all!!! (heeheee) ~ I wanted to have a give-away! I have seen my friends at Kat’s Kitchen and Cooking Up a Sale   do this, I never thought I would BUT this post seemed like a GREAT time to do it! 

I have always been thankful for those who “comment”…..some of you do not like to comment, I  understand  BUT the comment section is not only fun for me, it can be helpful to those who read and wonder “Should I make this? Lets see what others have said!”   Let’s turn this comment section in to a “chat” section…..IF only I can change the word to “Let’s Chat!”  umm…. 

Here IS how you play. I am going to throw some ways out there for you to play. NOW you may do one or ALL of them. This means you can enter up to seven times (OR MORE IF you comment on MORE then one old post)!!! Just tell me in the comment section of THIS post WHAT you did~ examples ~  “I commented on _______” or ” I liked on Facebook” or ” I became a follower” etc…..  I really AM excited to see who is reading!!!

1. Become a  NEW “follower” of Favorite Family Foods ——> , you will see that option to the right of the page and up a bit.  

2. NEWLY  “Like” Favorite Family Foods on Facebook so you can receive the updates that way!!! 

3. Tell a friend about Favorite Family Foods and GET them to “like” it Or “follow” it……tricky!!

4. Comment on some thing you tried. Something that looks good to you. Something you MAKE all the time. Something you made and DID not like.  * “Comment” DOES NOT mean you need to get mushy, “oh so good” or “looks great” IT CAN also mean you say something like “I have been making this for years….” or “Made this , did NOT like  it” or “made this and changed this” etc. and on and on…….*   (You MAY comment on more than one thing….just add a separate comment on THIS page for EACH COMMENT you made on another page, gives you more opportunity to win!!!) MUST BE NEW COMMENTS NOT ONE YOU MADE A DAY OR WEEK AGO (thanks for those too though!!!)

5. Share a recipe that you think others may enjoy. Send it to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com. I will try to make it, snap pictures and post it ~ giving you the credit or YOUR source the credit OR leaving it as “a friend shared this with me.” Your choice. 

6. Is the Aldi ad day HELPFUL to you???? Any hints to make it better? Should I nix it??? Add to it???

7. Any suggestions to make Favorite Family Foods better?? 

THE PRIZE you ask??? Well, that is winners choice!!! Either the above caramel sauce OR the above pumpkin pie spice, I will make it and give it to you. Contest ends at noon on Monday Oct. 22, thus giving you PLENTY of time to enter and tell someone else to enter!!!! (hint hint)  I will somehow randomly draw a name from all the comments on THIS page sometime on and announce the winner!     IF I know you I will get it to you, if I do NOT know you (fun too cause that means the blog is SPREADING!!!) Just send me your address (to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com) and I will mail it to you ASAP!!!

Thanks for playing!!! Seriously!!! 🙂 Have fun! I will!

If this is a hit……I might just do it again SOMETIME!!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

33 responses »

  1. I liked you on Facebook right after finding you through a friend! I am a faithful weekly Aldi shopper so you use of the add was a huge draw for me! I’ve made the zucchini fries and my family loved them. I was just thinking of trying to find a way to make pumpkin pie spice and you just made my day by posting this!!!!! I’d also love to know how to make my own taco seasoning too! Thanks for sharing your love of families eating together!

    • Thanks for “liking” and THANKS to your friend too! Glad to know you are a fellow Aldi shopper! Glad the pumpkin pie spice recipe came JUST in the nick of time!! I have made my own taco seasoning and really liked it, that is a recipe I hope to share sometime, especially knowing that you want it, I will try to get on it sooner rather than later! Thank you!!

  2. Yum!!!these recipes are coming just in the nick of time…I just made apple crisp and everyone was asking for carmel sauce , but i’ve never made it –I will try this one soon!!
    Also, in reference to almond bark–i never use it.I always use white baking chips or semi sweet or a combination of milk and semi sweet chips…

    • I think your family (and you) will LOVE the caramel. I wonder if you add parafin wax to your melted white of milk/semi sweet chocolate? I always do, I just use a bit, makes for easier dipping I think. (Tho not needed it you are making actual almond bark…..)

  3. I’ve been a fan from the beginning! 🙂 So funny, I used the same pumpkin spice recipe when I made your pumpkin apple muffins b/c I didn’t have any in the house. Now, I’m set for the season too! The muffins were a hit for Sunday coffee last week. I have to work on my streusal technique. It wasn’t as crumbly as I would have liked. I think I overmixed. Hoping to try the meatballs this week.

    • um… Streusel IS an artform, or at least it should be considered one!!! I think it is important to start with cold butter and be sure you have more “dry” ingredients than butter ~ too much butter and it will just melt away!! (Just my thoughts…..)

  4. Nice idea Bobbi! Not only do you give us good recipes to use, you also are giving us gifts! 🙂 And YES, I like your Aldi stuff that you post. I have added to my grocery list many times since you started doing that! Keep it up!

    • True that!!! Thanks for ropen’ those guys in!!! Oh, hey! you are eligible for caramel sauce!!(since I KNOW that is what you would pick!!) Thanks bro!

  5. Seriously, you have a recipe for pumpkin pie spice?! I was just going to make your pumpkin muffins (again for TC), had all the ingredients out, and realized I have no pumpkin pie spice. Ahhh! What would I do with out you?! 🙂

    • HA! I love it!!! I SO enjoy this spice recipe! Hope it worked out for you too!! (*Hallmark Moment* Seriously, thanks for reading and being so fun in the comment section!!! Really makes it fun for me when people have fun with the comments!! Thanks a mill!! I HONESTLY love being able to share my hobby with others….especially when people genuinely enjoy it too!!! I love to hear whatever people want to “say”!!! Thanks agian. You made me smile. *moment done….for now!!!*)

  6. Bobbi ~ glad you posted about pumpkin pie spice, I do not like having to buy way over priced little bottles of “specialty spices”…so thanks! Also, my mom posted the link to your cake balls recipe on facebook…my aunt inquired, and I directed my aunt to follow your blog. not sure if my mom or I should get the credit, but thought you’d like to know 🙂

    • I am thinking you BOTH should get credit…..as long as your mom puts a comment here about sharing the link….heeehee. I make it difficult, sorry. It is from the comments on THIS post that I will be picking the winner!!! 🙂

  7. I signed up to follow your blog, but have been following it just by having it linked on my blog for awhile now. I love your posts. This recipe is great since pumpkin pie spice is so expensive. When mine runs out I’ll definitely be making this recipe. Thanks!

    • Not sure if I every thanked you for linking my blog to your blog, thanks! That’s fun!!! I enjoy reading your posts as well!!! I am glad that others seem to be as excited about the Pumpkin Pie Spice as I was!!! Thank you for reading AND commenting! 🙂 (Once in a while you share recipes and at one point I was going to “link up” to yours as well….but then I hesitated, I wondered IF your blog was more ment for your family, being that you don’t all live near each other?? and not for the whole world to read? I would love to put your blog on my side bar 🙂 Let me know if that is OK or not!!! Thanks!)

      • Feel free to link, I know other friends of mine have. Although my blog is a big mixture of things and not specific in any way. I do post stuff for family to see, but I also post recipes that I enjoy and like sharing with others. I also post photography stuff sometimes. So my blog is very random. Not sure if it’s always relate-able to other people, but it’s fun to do and keep in touch with other friends & family who blog.

  8. Love the Aldi info. It’s my #1 place to shop since I don’t have time to coupon and they have such great deals there. Although I cannot find the Roasted Red Peppers in my store. Where are they located in your store, since I’m sure my Aldi is set up very similarly to yours. Thanks!

    • Thanks. I love that people DO find the Aldi info helpful….and not annoying! 😉 IT is my store of choice as well. I am sure that is obvious though….taheeehe. About the roasted red pepper location. In “my” store the special deals (the food ones NOT the household/toys ~ those are in the paper goods isle) START right near the front door on the left hand side. THOUGH, any extras at the end of the week end up right across from the fruit or across from the non-food special items. Sometimes the special deals pop up near check-out too. Boy, not so helpful. (I actually have not made it into the store for those special deals yet……I will let you know for sure when I go!!) I have been told that NOT ALL stores carry everything, all the time, though I would think they would all carry the special deals. My mom’s store does not always have all that mine does ~ BUT in the same breath, hers had pumpkin WAY before mine…… interesting.

  9. I commented on the sweet pepper jelly! I really enjoy your blog and feel alittle connected to you even though we don’t get to see or talk very often! hmmm..maybe we should do something about that!:)

    • True that. We NEED to get together! For sure….. Thanks for commenting and reading!!! I feel connected to everyone too through this, I often think “oh….so and so will like this, I need to post” or I am sharing a recipe from someone I love. I love to “chat” through the comment section too. Fun stuff! Thanks again!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

