Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

Maybe this  is not a soup that you have ever made or tried, for me both of those were true. I probably NEVER would have ventured out and made this had I not be given a taste of it from a friend. I heated it up that night, thinking I would be eating it ALL myself. Nope. After everyone tried it I was left with 3 bites. No complaints, that was a good thing. I knew they would eat it IF I made it! This soup IS very rich, a small bowl will satisfy. Serve with a sandwich and you have a lovely fall meal.

(By the way this soup is very_____ (started with “c” and rhymes with “dreamy”.)

Thanks to Marijo and fam for having a green thumb and sharing some lovely butternut squash with me!!! I am SPOILED!!   I have made this a few times and am quite thankful to add this delicious soup to my squash recipe file ~ thanks Marijo for sharing your soup with me….THUS making me NEED the recipe!

*This recipe of soup will yield you about 6 servings.  (Well, unless you boil it tooooo long, it will yield a bit less. *oppss* IF that would by chance happen to you, well, just add a bit more chicken bouillon/water to get it to you desired thickness.)

* Check out the original recipe here at allrecipes. I did make some slight changes when I made it.  It called for 2 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese. I used 1 (8 oz.) package. That was fine. I used 4 oz. of 1/3 less fat and 4 oz. of the full fat stuff. Either one would be fine.

* IF you prefer to boil your squash and not roast it, check with the original recipe. 

Butternut Squash Soup 
1/2 of an onion, cut into chunks
3 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
1 large carrot, peeled and cut up into chunks
6 c. butternut squash, peeled and cut up
4 TB. butter, melted
salt & pepper
3 c. water
4 chicken bouillon cubes
1/2 tsp. marjoram
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
8 oz. cream cheese
Put the cubed butternut squash, garlic and onion on a large sheet pan. Drizzle with melted butter and sprinkle with salt & pepper to taste. Roast in a 350° oven for 1 hour, till lightly browned and tender.

Put the squash mixture in a pot, add the water, chicken bouillon cubes, marjoram, black pepper and cayenne pepper. Bring this up to a boil. Simmer just a few minutes, you want the cubes to be dissolved but you REALLY don’t want to boil away all the broth…. Add an 8 oz. cream cheese. * Blend till smooth.  Serve and Enjoy. 

* If using a blender then blend in a few batches, remember to be careful because it IS hot. If using an immersion blender then you can do it right in your pot, being careful not to cover yourself WITH hot soup.*

Recipe from Marijo, adapted from allrecipes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. Hi Bobbi, This recipe looks interesting. I just made a squash-leek soup and had some left when Kris and John were here this past week-end. They ate it (which I was surprised at). I have such a hard time peeling the squash when it’s still raw, so I poke it and cook in the microwave. Have you tried that? This recipe has both beef and chicken boullion cubes. Probably a type error. Thanks for sharing another “winner.”

    • Hi Sue! Thanks for reading!! 🙂 I am thinking that our John and Kristen are learning NOT to be so picky as they are getting older, I am SO proud of them! The soup you made sounds good too! I, too, struggle with the cutting of squash and yes,I am a fan of the microwave cooking!!! As far as peeling goes, this year for the first time I started cutting the butternut squash in half, then using a veggie peeler to peel off the skin. Seems to be easy….well NOT easy, but not TOO difficult. Huh…I have never seen a recipe containing chicken and beef boullion. I wonder IF you used both or stuck to just one…interesting! 🙂

      • I only use chicken boullion. The recipe that ‘s on your post has both beef and chicken in the recipe(typo?) Happy cooking, baking and recipe posting!

      • Opps! Yep, my typo… thanks for clearing that up!! (My husband is CONVINCED that I should be blond…)It IS ment to be ALL chicken bouillon, good thing you caught it!!! ech….. Just to throw this out there to anyone who may care ~ my mom uses both chicken and beef bouillon in her pork recipes, she thinks it makes pork bouillon then! Interesting or Genius. 🙂 THANKS again!! Have a GREAT day! 🙂

  2. Guess what? I just made this too! Well, something similar. We got butternut from our CSA and I found an awesome recipe for squash and apple soup. I thought it tasted like something you’d get as a first course at a fancy restaurant! I find it funny how we tend to post the same type of recipes. After I got finished with my bread series this summer I looked back and saw that you had posted a cinnamon swirl bread too. No wonder we like each other’s blogs 🙂

    • I have gotten a kick out of our similar recipes too! There has been a time or two when you would post some recipe that I as planning on posting soon too! Or, I would go to write something down from your blog and realize that I have the cookbook you got it from, I then “star” it and put “cooking up a sale” by it with notes from you…..saves some writing! It makes me smile. We have similar cookbooks, true treasures in my opinion.!! Cinnamon Swirl Bread is THE best!!! I made a double batch of this soup and in one of the batches I shredded an apple. I thought it tasted great, but did not serve to my family yet…..wanted to see their opinions and then I just might be updating the post…..maybe you will be posting yours sometime? I would love to see the differences! 😉 Part of the fun of recipe reading, so many different ways to make EVERY recipe!! Thanks for reading and commenting!! 🙂

  3. Just made this yesterday-absolutely delicious! Had a bowl for supper last night and when my husband saw it he was terribly disappointed b/c he thought it was a cheese sauce for chips. Needless to say, I was the only one who had it; fine by me. I first had this in a restaraunt and was going to mention the apples b/c that is what they garnished it with (another one of those fun visual words:)) I personally did not care for it, but maybe I should try shredding an apple instead of the chunks.

    • HAlarious!!!!!! I find it SO funny he thought it was cheese dip!!! HA! Made me smile! I can see WHERE he was coming from though!!! My husband ate it with me and my kids at the tiny scoop I gave them ~ that was all BUT, like you said, I WAS happy to eat the leftovers myself!!! AS far as putting apples in it,I DID with one batch (added a shredded apple) AND I did NOT care for it. I think the carrots give it just the right amount of sweetness, my own opinion on that! Let you know IF you ever try it with apple and what YOUR thoughts are!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

