Lunch Box Items Part 3: Pickle Rolls & Chewy Granola Bars

Standard

In a constant effort to keep lunches not only excitable bit also EATEN and not brought home, I am always trying new ideas. My kids and husband had this for lunch one day and they all enjoyed it. I even made it for those of us who were at home. It does not refrigerate over night the best, as sometimes the juice from the pickle can get the tortilla soggy *ugh*, so it is best to make this in the morning (though I have done it at night just be sure to dry off your pickle!)

Pickle Rolls
4 tortillas, the 6 ” ones fit the pickles the closest
4  dill pickle spears
4-8 slices of ham
softened cream cheese (about 4 oz. I would say)

Cut each pickle in half, lengthwise. Lay your pickles on a couple of paper towels to drain any extra liquid, this will help your tortilla from NOT being soggy. Spread a nice layer of cream cheese over your WHOLE tortilla. Lay 1-2 pieces of ham over the cream cheese.  Lay a two dill pickle spears (equaling one because you cut it in half) towards the top of the tortilla. Tuck the tortilla edge over the pickle and roll up. Secure with toothpicks….reminding your loved ones that there ARE toothpicks in there.  I like to chill for about 1 hour, it sets the cream cheese and the roll with then hold better and you can remove the toothpicks. Slice in two and pack in your child’s lunch box WITH an ice pack. Enjoy!

I have made Crunchy Granola Bars and they were a hit here, BUT I wanted to try a Chewy Granola Bar recipe I found…..GLAD I did! Yum. My family ALL enjoyed them. A great snack to have and a GREAT addition to your child (or husbands) lunch box. I cut these to 24, put them in baggies, loaded them into a container and walaa… just take one out and throw in the lunch box. Easy Peasy. I hope you give them a whirl. Thanks to Lisa for a delicious recipe. Check it out here!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

7 responses »

    • I would have LOVED these when I was younger, my bros would have too!! RIGHT up my alley! 🙂 I think the festiveness comes from the lovely fall place mat that finds it way in ANY picture it can… Thanks!

  1. OK, I have had those dill pickle roll-ups as appetizers a few times and loved them. Not sure why I didn’t think of putting them in lunches! My kids would love these because they are slightly crazy about dill pickles 🙂

  2. Pingback: Granola Bars – Chewy ones! « Kats’ Kitchen

    • I have NOT tried that! BUT I really like the idea!!!!! I will probably be making them next week sometime, I will try it out and let you know! Peanut Butter + Chocolate = YUMMINESS!!!!

Leave a Reply

