Sweet Chili Meatballs, Crock Pot BBQ Chicken & Ranch Oyster Crackers

Standard

Aldi Sales from Oct. 3 ~ Oct. 9.

Open up the weekly ad for this week and yowzerrsss! HELLO FALL!!! You will see cider, pumpkin, squash, soups…..oh what fun!!!

  • If your kids enjoy an occasional glass of hot cider after playing outside in the chilly weather, then you may want to grab a box or 3 of Spiced Apple Cider Mix. A 7.4 oz. package is $1.99.
  • Aldi’s shelves are STOCKED with all different sorts of soups this time of year ~ Minestrone, Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup, Southwestern Black Bean Soup, French Onion Soup ~ just to name a FEW! These would make nice quick lunches and dinners on those chilly days.
  • Chili time is here! * yeah! * If you like to make your own chili, you will find all the beans, tomatoes and meat you need at Aldi this week OR make it REALLY easy and snag a package of 3 Bean Chili or Hearty Soup Mix (5.1-5.9 oz. packages or $1.19) and go from there.
  • Are you a pumpkin fan??? If you are maybe you are interested in Pumpkin Ravioli, Pumpkin Seeds, Pumpkin Cream Cheese, Pumpkin Bagels, Pumpkin Spice Milk, Pumpkin Pie  Ice Cream, Pumpkin Cooking Salsa, Pumpkin Supreme Pie, Pumpkin Cheesecake, Pumpkin Caramel Sauce, Pumpkin Spice Bark, Pumpkin Cookies, Pumpkin Cupcakes, Pumpkin Bar Mix, Pumpkin Yogurt…..and EVEN more Pumpkin items!!! * I have tried not one of these so PLEASE let me know if you do…I am REALLY interested in knowing how some of these are!!!!! (thanks)*
  • Acorn Squash, yum, grab a few at 59¢ each, you may as well. (Look for a recipe for Acorn Squash another day….oh the suspense……)
  • 3 pack of Caramel Apples is selling for $1.29.
  • Hazelnut Spread (aka Nutella) is $1.99 for a 13 oz. jar.
  • Pure Olive Oil is $2.79 for a 16.9 oz. bottle.
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil is $3.29 for a 17 oz. bottle.
  • Turkey Bacon is $2.19 for a 12 oz. package.
  • Crispy Oats Cereal (aka Cheerios) is $1.49 for a 12.25-14 oz. box.

Now for a few recipe ideas for the week…..

  • A 15 oz. can of Pumpkin is 99¢. (This is NOT in the flyer, but I KNOW is IN the store!! 🙂 High fives all around…wahooo….. Time for pumpkin muffins….can you tell we like them here?? Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins and Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins (apples are $2.19 for a 3 lb. bag FYI) are both favorites over here! (Another  pumpkin recipe to come…another day!)
  • Fit & Active or Chef’s Cupboard Broths are 99¢ for a 32 oz. container. Comes in handy when making Butter Baked Rice or ANY other dish that calls for chicken stock.
  • Ground sirloin is $3.69 per lb. Ground Beef is $3.19 per lb.  Maybe Meatloaf Cordon Blue should be on the menu this week?
  • Red Grapes are 89¢ per lb. Great for lunches and GREAT to make Grape Salad. (You CAN use all red grapes!)

Now for  some new recipes to try this week…..

  • Oyster Crackers are 89¢ for a 10 oz. package. Not only do these make a GREAT snack (see recipe below), but they are also fantastic sprinkled over  soup.
  • Yeah!!! Aldi has Chili Sauce for $1.29 (12 oz.). All you need now is Grape Jelly (a 32 oz. jar is $1.59), and ground beef ($3.19 for 1 lb.) and you can enjoy Sweet Chili Meatballs (recipe below)….don’t forget the lemon!!
  • Chicken! YEAH! $1.69 per lb. THAT is what is for dinner! Grab a bbq sauce and check out the recipe below……

This recipe is very versatile, you can serve it with toothpicks as an appetizer OR you can serve it over egg noodles for dinner.  This is one of those “go-to” meals, one that comes to mind when shopping…..and my list is AT home, easy to remember the ingredients!

* You can also put the cooked meatballs in a crock pot and pour the sauce over and cook a few hours to warm. That is easy if you are bringing to a potluck (I want to go to a potluck….) or party.

Sweet Chili Meatballs 
Meatballs:
2 lb. ground beef
2 eggs, slightly beaten
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 c. bread crumbs
1/2 c. milk
Mix together and form into balls. You can either roll in flour and fry, or I just bake  @ 350* for about 30 minutes ~ till cooked through. (I never remember to roll in the flour and they are fine;))

Sauce: 
1 bottle of chili sauce (12 oz.)
10 oz. grape jelly (I use about 1 c.)
Juice of 1 lemon
Mix and pour over cooked meatballs. Cook @ 350* for about 20 minutes, till heated through. Serve with toothpicks ~ as an appetizer or over noodles ~ as dinner. A 1/2 batch will fill a 7″ x 11″ pan with meatballs, and full batch and you will need to put it in a 9″ x 13″ pan.

Recipe from the cookbook Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor.

The crock pot is a wonderful kitchen “utensil” ~ one that saves you a lot of time  AND you can come home from a BUSY day with dinner waiting for YOU!!  This dish is very versitile,  serve it over rice, on hard rolls or along side baked potatoes.

Crock Pot BBQ Chicken 
5 boneless skinless chicken breasts
15 oz. bottle of BBQ sauce (about 15 oz.)
1/4 c. vinegar
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp. pepper
pinch of hot pepper flakes

Put the chicken into your crock pot, mix the remaining ingredients and pour over. Cover with lid and cook on low for 5-6 hours. I like to serve with baked potatoes and a vegetable on the side. Enjoy!

I was first introduced to this when my Aunt would make it, it really is a yummy snack. Over the years, I have changed a few things, but that memory of eating it with them will always be there!

* When I do not have two bags of oyster crackers I add pretzels or chex cereal instead!

Ranch Oyster Crackers 
2 (10 oz.) packages of Oyster crackers
1 pkg. of dry Ranch dressing mix
1 tsp. dill weed
1/2 c. of vegetable oil
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning
Pour the crackers into a LARGE pan or into 2 ~ 9″ x 13″ pans. Combine the remaining ingredients and drizzle over top, stir well to combine. Bake @ 250° for 40 minutes, stir after 20. Dump onto paper bags to cool. Enjoy. 

Recipe adapted from the recipe my Aunt Jen shared with me years ago.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

7 responses »

  1. The pumpkin cream cheese and pumpkin coffee creamer are delicious. I think I need to shop Aldi without my kids to find those other yummy sounding items that must be hiding from me. Thanks for the recipes!

    • Funny and good to know! I was actually most AFRAID of the pumpkin cream cheese (well…and the pumpkin spice milk)!!! Now…I just may NEED to try it!!! If only I liked coffee……might just have to learn so I can try the creamer!!! Thanks for letting me know about those items!!! I too am interested to see WHERE Aldi is stocking all those pumpkin items…..Yeah, when I have the kids I tend to just zip in and out, getting just the “regulars” ~ but the other week I gave them each a calculator….funny how fun those things can be….kept them BUSY and distracted from being cranksters!! 🙂

  2. Made the BBQ chix the other night and used Teriyaki instead of BBQ (because I didn’t have near as much BBQ sauce as I thought…) and it was delicious 🙂 Would’ve been good with rice, although I didn’t think of that til we were eating it. Thanks for all the yummy recipes!

    • Yum! I think I might “run” out of BBQ sauce next time and HAVE to use Teriyaki! That sounds GREAT! Thanks for commenting!! (and reading!!)

Leave a Reply

