Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Standard

This recipe screams FALL!! (If I had to pick a top ten list of favorite recipes ever, this would no DOUBT be on the list……though really that does not seem like a good idea to only pick 10 ~ I would need to have a “top 50” list AT LEAST.  :)) It is one of the first recipes I make when the weather turns colder. These. are. so. good.

* I shred my apples, if you shred them you are good with 1 1/2 c. shredded apples ~ instead of 2 c., as called for when you chop them.

* For this recipe you use straight up pumpkin, I use the Aldi’s brand of  canned pumpkin. You do not want “pumpkin pie filling” that already has sugar and spices in it….it WILL not be right.

* The original streusel recipe is ~ 2 TB. flour, 1/4 c. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 4 tsp. butter. We are streusel fanatics that is why I made this one up….it gives me WAY more. Use either one!

* Yields 18 muffins.

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins 
2 1/2 c. flour
2 c. sugar
1 TB. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs (slightly beaten)
1 c. solid pack pumpkin
1/2 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. peeled, finely chopped apples
1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 c. quick oats
1/4 c. very soft butter

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, pumpkin, vanilla and oil. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients, stir JUST till combined. Fold in the apples.

Spoon the batter into greased or paper lined muffin cups, filling about 2/3 full.

Combine the 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. sugar, oats, cinnamon and butter till combined well.

Sprinkle on top of batter. Bake @ 350* for about 18-22  minutes.

Recipe adapted from  Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Bobbi: I just about bought some pumpkin and apples today.. It sounds so good Iwould have
    to adapt it to using a sugar substitute as the amount of sugar is too much for us.
    Grandma Witvoet

Leave a Reply

