Raspberry Jam

Standard

Two things. 
1. I have found COLOR!!! Brace yourselves…….
2. A few of my friends have said they had trouble “following” favoritefamilyfoods, they signed up ~ but never received the e-mail updates. Sad. If this has happened to you, sorry. You can also “like” here on Facebook ~ and there I will give a notification of a new recipe posted….that way you do not have to miss any recipes! 
3. I know I said two…..3. THANKS as always for reading. 

My favorite jam is raspberry jam. I would pick seedless, IF I can pick. So when I saw this recipe in an old church cookbook  (sorry, no clue the name of it) ~ I knew I had HAD to try it!!! My curiosity was 100 times increased when I saw the main ingredient….green tomatoes!!! WHAT else are you gonna do with those babies at the end of the season?!?!?

* Don’t expect the taste to be “smuckers” or anything, I mean we are talking about raspberry jello here….but it got 2 thumbs up from those I shared it with!! AND passed the kid test when they had it for breakfast on english muffins. 

* The jam will NOT thicken up till 100% cool, don’t be nervous that it failed….just give it time. (This jam is NOT super thick, it just “THICKENS”…..) *UPDATE* A few days later I took the jar out that was in my fridge and it had thickened more!! Yeah!

* I liked this on English Muffins.  I will NEVER try it with PB&J, not my thing….ugh.  It might not be thick enough for that….but PLEASE if someone does try it, let me know how it is!!!! (Thanks.)

* I doubled this recipe and it  yielded me ~ 3 cleaned  sanitized peanut butter jars full and 1 cleaned sanitized maraschino cherry jar full. IN CASE you choose to store yours another way….though I have no IDEA why you would 😉 ….. I would guesstimate this DOUBLE batch equaling about 8 cups.

* This recipe can also be canned. Just put in your canning jars, twist on the lids and process for 15 minutes. 

Raspberry Jam 
2 c. pureed green tomatoes
2 c. sugar (can use 1 1/2 c. for less sugar)
1 pkg. raspberry jello (the 4 serving size box)
Combine the pureed tomatoes and sugar and bring to a full boil, add the dry jello powder and bring BACK to a full boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Put in your freezer safe jars of choice (not glass..I used one glass jar cause I wanted it RIGHT in the fridge to eat RIGHT away). Let cool all the way. It will set with cooled. Freeze. Spread on toast or english muffins or those things called PB&J’s. Enjoy.

Recipe from a delightfully old church cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

