Soft Garlic Knots

Standard

I am taking a break today from sharing Aldi sale recipes and recipe ideas. The ad is filled with “price comparisons” ~ check it out. I just didn’t really have a recipe that matched the sale ad, I was however pleased to see that I am saving money by shopping there! I realized that I have not shared a fresh baked bread/roll recipe in a while. I hope you find this one to be as enjoyable as we do.  I had this post ready to send out months ago….oppsss….glad I found it now, hope you will be glad too!!!

I have served these rolls with soup, I have served these rolls with Italian food, I have served these rolls as a sandwich with burgers….ENDLESS are the possibilites and ENDLESS will  be the smiles. It took me a few tries to get the “knot” ~ that which is really not that great yet, no worries it is STILL delicious “knot” or not…heehee.

* This dough works fine in a bread machine too. Just put the dough ingredients in your bread machine, in the order listed, and set to dough cycle. When it is done, just continue on with the recipe below.

* I have decided that I like to brush with the “glaze” BEFORE rising the rolls the 2nd time. I found that if I brushed the risen rolls, they sometimes deflated and THAT was always a bummer….

Soft Garlic Knots   
1 c. + 2 TB. warm water
2 TB. oil
1/4 c. warm milk
1 TB. sugar
1 1/4 tsp. salt
3 c. flour
2 tsp. yeast
Glaze   
1 tsp. garlic powder
2 TB. melted butter
1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
Combine the water, oil, salt, milk, sugar, flour and yeast in your bread machine in the order listed and set to dough cycle. OR.  Combine the warm water with the yeast and let set 5 minutes. Add the oil, milk, sugar and salt. Mix a bit, then add the flour 1 c. at a time, then dump out on counter to knead in any extra flour, knead for 6-8 minutes till smooth. Put in bowl, cover and let rise till doubled. When dough it ready, divide into 16 (12 if making for sandwiches) pieces and roll each piece into a snake shape and tie into a knot, tucking one end under and one end in the middle.  (At this point I sometimes brush with the glaze, then cover with greased plastic wrap.) Cover with a light towel and let rise 20-30 minutes till JUST barely doubled and bake @ 350* for 15-18 minutes. Combine the glaze toppings and brush over warm rolls.  Serve and Enjoy. Yeild 12-16.

Recipe adapted from King Arthur Flour.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Oh yippeeee! I was nervous knowing you were trying the potatoes last night….I knew we enjoyed them, hoped others would too! Thanks for trying and letting me know how they were!! 🙂 You WILL lov-o the bread too, I am sure!!!

    • Yes, bread is yummy! My kids could skip the main dish most of the time and go STRAIGHT for the bread! One time I forgot I had these rolls a’risin’ and they morphed to the size of Texas……made GREAT hamburger buns!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

