Pepper Jelly

Standard

THIS STUFF IS FANTASTIC.  It makes for delish sandwich spreads, makes for delish appetizers (when poured over cream cheese and served with crackers), it makes for delish main dishes ( a recipe or 2 to follow….some day), it makes for a delish dip with crackers or pretzels. PROMISE me you will make this or buy some next time you are in Shipshewana, please? I do not think you will regret it!!

* IF your jelly does not set up, just put the sealed jars in your pantry. You can still use it, it will just be a bit more liquidy, still having a delicious flavor. I had a batch that did not set, I put it away and a few weeks later ~ they had SET up!! (This recipe makes more of a “thickened “jelly” then a “firm” jelly, which makes for good dipping.) Fun.

* Yields about 3 1/2 pint size jars.

Pepper Jelly     
1 1/2 c. red bell pepper, chopped finely
1 1/2 c. green bell pepper, chopped finely
1 c. jalapenos, chopped finely
1 c. apple cider vinegar
1 box of Sure Jell
1/2 tsp. butter
5 c. sugar
Combine the peppers, vinegar and sure jell. Add the butter too, this will help it not to foam up. Bring to a full  boil, stirring always. Add the sugar and stir well, bring back to a FULL boil, stirring always. Boil for a solid minute. Stirring constantly or it may burn. (Skim off any foam there might be.) Put into pint size jars. Process 15 minutes.

Recipe from Kelly.

Here it our favorite way to serve pepper jelly, with cream cheese and crackers.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

      • I made it today! I had red and purple bell peppers and it looks real pretty in the jars! I had just enough peppers to make one batch. I also left some of the jalapeno seeds in. I wonder if it will make it a little spicy sweet? I can’t wait to try it! Oh and it made 3 pints for me. Thanks Bobbi!

      • PURPLE?? I LOVE that! (I want to shop in YOUR garden next year ;)) I think yours should have a nice “kick” with the seeds you left in :). Mine was not too hot, but my mom (made the same recipe) and I just ate some of her’s and it was quite a bit hotter then mine….might depend on the level of heat the jalapenos have, I love the spicy sweetness of it. Hope your family enjoys (don’t turn your back on the kids with it…they might just try to drink it ~ I MIGHT know that from experience ~ it is THAT good!!) Oh, hey, you ARE welcome ~ thank YOU for reading and commenting!!

  1. I LOVE this stuff! We have made it the past couple of years and it is always a hit and I make just a small meal out of it sometimes! Seriously people- make it!!!

Leave a Reply

