Avocado Ranch Dip, Yellow Summer Squash Relish & Whole Grain Waffles

Standard

Aldi Sales for the week of Sept. 12-18.

Sorry for my lack of Aldi “recipes” this week. I only have one to share. That is Avocado Ranch Dip. I also wanted to share a canning recipe, it IS harvest time!!! 🙂 Also, school is back in session and I know that it is important to give those kids a good hearty breakfast so they have energy for the day of school ahead of them.  So look for those recipes here too! I hope you enjoy!(~ and missed me  recieving new recipes a little bit during my “break” from the computer, I am happy to be back at it!!!)

* Avocados are $0.49 each. A recipe using avocados coming up…..
* Roma Tomatoes are $0.69 for a 1 lb. pkg. I like to use Romas A LOT. Here are some of the recipes I like to use them in.Pico de Gallo (grab some avocados and you can make quac too….) (I know I am a broken record when it comes to guacamole, saying over and over that it is good ~ but really, it is fantastic and a great side to tacos!), BLT Dip,  Grilled Veggies and remember that Romas are great on sandwiches and pizza too!
* Mangos are $0.59 each, they are not only delicious as a snack but also in Ranch Chicken Wraps.

I recently saw this recipe at Beth’s Favorite Recipes. It jumped out at me and I had a ripe avocado just waiting to be used, so I made it and we had it for lunch and it was very good. It does get brownish after a day or so ~ I had a feeling that would happen so I halved it. I think it would be a nice sandwich or tortilla spread as well.  I did not have chives, so I left those out as well. Check the recipe out here! I hope you enjoy too!

My family in a family of pickle eaters, they enjoy relish too ~ so I knew that this recipe would be a fun one to try out. Not only is it delicious but it is also pretty in the jars. This is an easy canning recipe, not too intimidating ~ just remember that it DOES start the night before, ELSE you might just be disappointed when you go to make it one morning and realize you CANNOT cause you should have started the day before……

* I used a mixture of zucchini (about 2 cups) and yellow summer squash (about 8 cups). IT made it really pretty.

* Please do not use any bowls or cups or mugs that you REALLY love, cause the tumeric WILL turn those things yellow….I now have a lovely 1/2 yellow 1/2 white mug that I am pretty sure will either be really COOL to drink out of or be the one that everyone avoids….

* This yields about 6 1/2 pints.

Yellow Summer Squash Relish
10 c. shredded yellow summer squash
2 large onions, chopped finely
2 large green  peppers, chopped finely
6 TB. canning salt
4 c. sugar
3 c. apple cider vinegar
1 TB. celery seed
1 TB. ground mustard
1 TB. tumeric
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. pepper
Combine the 1st 4, mix well and chill overnight. In the morning drain well, rinse, drain again. In a large pot mix together the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Add the squash mixture and bring back to a boil. Boil for 15 minutes. Ladle into pint size jars and process for 15 minutes. Allow to set on your counter for 24 hours. Check to see if they all sealed. IF any did not they need to go in your fridge to be eaten right away, the others can go in your pantry to enjoy all winter long. Enjoy.

Recipe from Country Women magazine.

If you like waffles, you will like these. They cook up nicely in the waffle iron and are  good for you! Top with your choice of waffle topping~ syrup or butter, powdered sugar, whipped cream or strawberries ~ however you top it, it should be a hit!

Yields about 6 waffles, so we always double.

Whole Grain Waffles
1/2 c.flour
1/2 c. wheat flour
1/2 c. quick cooking oats
1 TB. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 1/4 c. milk
1 TB.oil
1 egg
Heat your waffle iron. Whisk the egg, oil and milk together. Add the remaining ingredients and mix just till combined. I usually let the mixture set for about 5 minutes.  Spray waffle iron with cooking spray and cook according to your waffle iron’s instructions.  Enjoy.

Recipe originality unknown, a recipe I have been using for years.

8 responses »

  1. I made the avacado ranch dip, and it was soo soo soo yummy! I LOVE guac but sometimes I want to do something a little different with my avacadoes. Thanks Bobbi! 🙂

  2. OMG! I absolutely LOVE the Yellow Squash relish! It is amazing on Hot Dogs. I am sharing with everyone I know. YUM>

  3. Did you just use a water bath for the relish, or a pressure canner? I do not have the latter, so just wanted to be sure I am doing it right. 🙂 Looks super good, and I can’t wait to try it! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

