Fresh From the Garden Salad & Artichoke Fish

Standard

Another garden recipe comin’ your way! Thanks to my mom for this one. I new favorite around here! (My favorite part is the olives…….) Oh, add any veggie you want too, I am SURE it will be fantastic!

Fresh From the Garden Salad
1 cucumber, sliced
4 Roma tomatoes, sliced
1/4 – 1/3 c. red onion, sliced
3/4 c. black olives, cut up a bit
Dressing:
2 TB. vinegar
2 TB. sugar
1/4 c. oil
salt & pepper
Combine all the veggies in a bowl….and the olives too. Mix the dressing ingredients together and pour over. Stir and cover and place in the fridge to meld those flavors together. Enjoy!

Recipe from Mom W.

I know that fish is fantastic for you, I know this and I try to make it often. Tho my often my be every other month or so…if THAT. I need to fix this. I need to learn to eat more fish, flared nostrils or not. I want my kids to like fish. SO that is my goal, to make more fish for the health of my family.  With recipes like this one it should NOT be a problem, it was fantastically good! Does anyone have a favorite way that they prepare fish???

Artichoke Fish
5-6 Tilapia fillets
1/4 c. butter
1 lemon
2/3 c. stuffing mix, crushed up a little
6 oz. can of artichoke hearts, cut up a bit
cheddar cheese or parmesan cheese, for topping
Lay the tilapia fillets on a greased cookie sheet WITH sides. Drizzle the fish with the melted butter, drizzle with the fresh squeezed lemon juice.  Mix together the artichokes with the stuffing mix. Sprinkle of top of the fish and press down a bit. Top with the cheese of your choice (I used cheddar but thought that parmesan sounded FANTASTIC too.) Bake @ 425* for about 10-15 minutes or till the fish is nice and flakey. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from food.com.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

9 responses »

    • Thanks for sharing those recipes,I will have to try them both! 🙂 Aldi, right now ~ as we know they can quit carrying any one thing at any time, has a jar of marinated artichoke hearts, it might be about 12-14 oz. or so. That is what I used, you can find it (well…at my store) right new the olives and salad dressings. I used the Aldi (surprised?) box of stuffing mix, ~ like stovetop. I did crush it a little bit. The remaining stuffing that I did not use, I just put in a Ziplock in the pantry for the next time….same with the artichoke leftovers. Thanks for your questions and hope I helped! 🙂

    • Oh, bummer! Thanks for letting me know, maybe if we all say something, they will bring them back! 😉 I guess we will just have to go to ANOTHER store for them then…..ugh.

      • NO! Say it is not so! I guess they are making way for new items…… 🙂 That is the hard thing about Aldi, they move things in and out so so much. A manager did once tell me that, they remove an item if it is not bought enough. They took away baby soap and lotion…..THAT was a big bummer to me ~ I guess I did not buy enough 😉 to keep in on the shelves. Maybe we will see the artichokes and peppers next summer….we shall see. thanks!

      • I was actually at Aldi today and saw both the artichokes and the jar of peppers :). In “my” Aldi, they were located right near the olives and salad dressings. Some Aldi’s are bigger though, my mom shops at a smaller one and she cannot always get everything I can ~ I hope this helps:).

Leave a Reply

