Zucchini Crisp & Corn Dog Muffins

Standard

Aldi Sales from Sept. 5 – 11.

Today I do not have an “Aldi” recipe to share.  HOWEVER. I will still tell you some sensational sales that I hope NOT to miss on from Aldi.  The 2 recipes I will be sharing do utilize much of Aldi’s products, so I hope you still enjoy.

Grapes. Red and green or both $0.79 per lb. Looking for a salad for tonight’s dinner. How about Grape Salad??
Corn flakes. An 18 oz. box is $1.49. No Bake Cornflake Peanut Butter Cookies make a GREAT after school snack.
Syrup. Grab a bottle for $1.59 and a box of Crisp Rice cereal (12 oz.) for $1.69 and you are on  your way to making a great breakfast for your kids, Granola is a delish breakfast with Yogurt (a large container is $1.99) or is makes for a hearty snack as well.
* Pork Sausage Roll. We like breakfast for dinner sometimes over here, how about you? Grab this sausage for $2.29 and you can enjoy it on your Pizza Breakfast Casserole tonight!! Just cook up the sausage, drain well and sprinkle over the egg/milk mixture, top with cheese and veggies and bake as directed.
Raspberry Preserves. Yum. No recipe for that ….. yet…. but now that my pantry has a jar or 4, I may just have a recipe to send out your way! At $1.99 for an 18 oz. jar, you really cannot pass that up.
* Honey Puffs. (Hop up, heel click, do a little yip, sit back down or get back to your cart……CAUSE …..they are back!!! (you know who you are……) YEAH!!) These are really good in snack mixes, like Favorite Snack Mix, don’t  believe me?? Just give it a whirl. A 14.5 oz. box is $1.99.

And now …… for some recipes…..finally!!!!

Ever have a recipe that you have had FOR.EV.ER. but are not QUITE ready to make it and really not willing to part with it ~ it might be a treasure you know!!??! Well, this was my recipe like that. I looked at it all the time, sorta nervous to try it, yet knowing that I could not get rid of it……I just might regret it and NEVER be able to find it again…… The time came, I gave it a go. Well. IT WAS a winner. A unique dessert. Don’t think too much about what is in it, IF you like Apple Crisp, then I am fairly positive you will like this. It tasted just like apple crisp. THO please follow this one tip ~ PEEL your zucchini! I did not, guess maybe I should have thought about it or read the directions properly  and peeled them. My kids knew immediately that there was something different about this said “apple crisp” ~ no foolin’ those smarties. I told them what it was. Next question was “is there peppers in it?” That made me smile. “Nope.” Was my reply. They tried it and enjoyed it. SUCCESS. A lovely new recipe discovered and BONUS, another way to use some zucchini. Don’t be nervous. Try it and tell me what you think.

* Serves about 12-15.

Zucchini Crisp
8 c. sliced peeled (opps…see I missed this part…heehee) zucchini
3/4 c. lemon juice
1/2 c. to 3/4 c. sugar
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
Topping: 
1 1/3 c. packed brown sugar
1 c. quick cook oats
1 c. flour
2/3 c. cold margarine or butter
In a bowl, combine the zucchini, lemon juice, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Mix well. Pour into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Set aside. Combine the brown sugar, oats and flour in a bowl and cut in the butter or margarine ~  till it is nice and crumbly. Sprinkle over top of the zucchini mixture. Bake @ 350* for about 50 – 60 minutes, or till top is golden brown and it is nice and bubbly on the sides. Let set just a bit to cool down so you do not singe your precious mouth. Serve with ice cream. (Oh yeah, to tell them what is in it or NOT to? NOW that is the question……..)

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home Magazine.

So my Facebook “likers” have voted and want to see “lunch box” ideas as a new series! Thanks for your votes! I will also be sure to share some soup recipes, breakfast items AND canning recipes (thanks for throwing that one out there!! ) So lets start the new series with “Corn Dog Muffins”! These are sweet, like corndogs….but NOT deep-fried, making them better for you. Those of us who are at home can enjoy eating them, with the other kids for lunch too! Serve with ketchup and mustard IF that is your thing, though I like them just plain.

Yields 18 muffins.

Corn Dog Muffins 
1 c.cornmeal
1 c. flour
1 TB. baking powder
1/2 c. sugar (you may add less if you want, it is PLENTY sweet!)
1 tsp. salt
1 c. milk
2 eggs
1/2 stick of butter,  melted
1/4 c. honey
5 hot dogs, cut up
2/3 c. shredded cheddar cheese
Line your muffin tins with muffin liners (I actually like to spray my liners with cooking spray, cause the muffins just pop right on out them ~ just a tiny spritz is ALL you need). Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Set aside. Combine with milk, eggs, butter and honey. Mix and add the dry ingredients just till combined. Add the cut up hot dogs and cheddar cheese.  Pour into prepared muffin tins and bake @ 350* for about 20 minutes till lightly browned. Hope your kids enjoy this unique lunch.

Corn Dog Muffin recipe my own. Corn Muffin base from The Neely’s.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. My sis in law was just telling us about this zucchini crisp that tastes like apple! I was like “yeah right”! This is so funny. But u need to try these reciepes because if you plant zucchini there always seems to be so much of it!

  2. I wish zucchinni crisp could be cucumber crisp…….we have those coming out of out ears…..and they are not near as versatile as zucchinni….bummer…..sounds good tho. And I can see how you would difinately have to peel those things to pass it of as apple crisp!:)

  3. Can’t wait to try the corn dog muffins-such a great idea:) So excited about the Honey Puffs(Honey Combs) at Aldi that I went and bought 2 boxes!!! Snack mixes here we come!! Great for lunches.

Leave a Reply

