Salsa Mac & Cheese & Ranch Chicken Wraps

Standard

Aldi Sales for August 22 ~ August 28.

IF you LOVE tortillas, salsa, chilies, etc. ~ then you will really enjoy the Aldi ad for this week! We do enjoy tacos, tortillas, quasadillas, and chip dips so I will for sure be stocking up on certain things! I am happily going to share 2 recipes with you. Sadly, one of which does not have a picture ~ I will add one when we make it next time, and one of them in a quick dinner.

1st let’s take a look at what we CAN make using some special buys!

* Hawaiian rolls ($2.29 for a 12 count package) and Dill Pickle Chips ($1.19 for a jar…not certain of the ounce, 24-32 oz.) are 2 of the important ingredients in Mock White Castles.
* Chicken Breasts ($5.49 for a 48 oz. bag) and Wheat Kaiser Buns ($1.49 for a 20 oz. package) are 2 important ingredients for Slow Cooked Chicken Caesar Buns.
* Tortillas are a staple in this house, how about your’s?? We use them for Baked Creamy Taquitos,  and Cinnamon Chips ~ just to name a few. You get 20 ~ 6″ tortillas for $1.49. Nice. (OR grab an 8 pack of 10″ tortillas for $1.29.)
* Gotta grab an avocado ($0.49 each) or 2 to make some guacamole to go with tortillas…how ever you choice to serve them! I would love to hear your ideas for avocado use! 🙂
* Tortilla Chips, anyone?? $1.19 a bag. Delicious to dip in your quac. Or are Corn Chips your thing?? OH, I NEARLY SCREAMED OUT. LOUD. They now have Chili Cheese Corn Chips…..I just spotted it RIGHT. NOW!!!! $1.19 a bag. I like those. Tortilla or Corn Chips and ESPECIALLY Chili Cheese Corn Chips are great with Fiesta Corn Chip Dip (don’t forget the Mexicorn!! $0.79).
* Looking to get some green veggies in your diet? NOW IS the time when fresh broccoli is $0.99 for a 16 oz. package. Here is one of my favorite salads that puts broccoli in the spotlight.
* Mushrooms are a great side dish, even IF you don’t like mushrooms….you might want to give these a go! Try to make Mushroom Side Dish, I did, and I liked. Shocker.  ( An 8 oz. package is $0.69. FYI.)

 This 1st recipe comes from my son ~ he has patiently been waiting for me to share it! This is not going to get any awards for health, it, however, was a GREAT memory from when my oldest son asked me if he could make dinner.  The kids Great Grandma gave them a cook book, it has all kids of easy recipes,  and A LOT of recipes have been flagged to try. He saw the idea for Salsa Macaroni and Cheese, but did not have the proper ingredients called for, it needed a cheese Ragu sauce or something, so we went to the fridge and pulled out some stuff, quite literally, he put it together (with a bit of help from me with the measuring and cooking of noodles) and they really enjoyed eating it!

It is memories like that that mean a lot, just a reminder to us to take the time in the kitchen to cook with the kids EVEN if it makes us want to pull out our hair…….  I am encouraged to see that all my kids enjoy getting in the kitchen with me EVEN if it is just to snag a beater…..or two too lick or a bowl to scrape clean. I hope you too enjoy cooking with your kids and letting their imagination run wild!  I grew up eating homemade mac & cheese made from velveeta and shell pasta, so this was a blast from the past ~ with some new flavors in it!  Salsa Con Queso (is $2.29 for a 16 oz. jar) and salsa ($1.69 for a 24 oz. jar) and a box of shell noodles ~ or elbow, whatever you like is all you need for this recipe.

* Salsa Con Queso is a jar of cheese/salsa sauce/dip, we eat it with tortilla chips sometimes on Sunday nights. It is by the salsa at Aldi, just wanted to tell you in case you had never heard of it!

Salsa Mac & Cheese 
8 oz. shell noodles, uncooked
1 c. salsa
1 c.  Salsa Con Queso cheese sauce
Cook the noodles according to pkg. (Mom’s you may have to help here!) Drain, put in a large bowl, add the rest of the ingredients and stir well, may need to re-heat a bit if stirring takes too long. (At this point you may add a little bit of velveeta cheese if you need to add a little more cheese.)  Let your kids serve it up. Enjoy their smiles when they talk about the dinner they made! Enjoy the memories you are making….

Recipe idea from “Simple 1-2-3 Cooking for Kids”.

Grilling is a wonderful treat in the summer, here is a unique recipe for grilling chicken. I really liked the idea of the sweet mango and cilantro ~ I LOVE cilantro! Leftovers make for great lunches! Thanks Denise for sharing this delish recipe with me! It will be a recipe I make often! Tortillas are $1.29 ~ $1.49 this week. Aldi also has chicken for $5.49 for a 48 oz. bag. The also carry Ranch dressing and honey, for sure ~ and at times they have mangos and cabbage. I THINK they have lime juice ~ don’t quote me PLEASE.

* I served with extra Ranch, by now you SHOULD know that my family really enjoy their sauces or dips or dressings!!

Ranch Chicken Wraps 
1 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 c. Ranch dressing
2 TB. honey
2 TB. lime juice
tortillas, maybe 8 or so
2 cut up mangos
fresh cilantro, cut up
thin sliced cabbage (I used lettuce)
Combine the Ranch dressing, honey and lime juice in a bowl and add the chicken. Allow to marinade in the fridge for 1 hour. Grill, about 6 minutes per side ~ give or take, till cooked through. Take off grill and allow to rest for about 5-10 minutes. Slice and serve on the tortilla with the mango, cilantro and cabbage. Roll up and enjoy!

Recipe from Denise.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Oooohhh….you have so many recipes on here that go on my “to try soon” list! We love chicken wraps and cilantro as well…and I happen to have a humongous weird Chinese cabbage in my fridge right now (from our CSA). I’m thinkin’ this is going to be our Labor Day lunch!

    • Back at ya! I enjoy and have set aside many of your recipes too! I find it enjoyable that we use many of the same cookbooks, cause I will go to write one down and wala….I already have it in a cookbook SO I just flag it in there! That HUMONGOUS Chinese cabbage sounds wonderful!!! YUM……Hope you enjoy the wraps as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

