Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Pancakes

Standard

“Pancakes…please?” I hear this often, I am “accidentally” raising non-cereal breakfast eaters. I like granola, egg sandwiches, pancakes, muffins, omelets, etc. THAT means that the kids want to eat it too! That is fine, though, we DO need to have cereal a few times a week…….anyways….. I saw these pancakes at Minimalist Baker, and they caught my eye. They looked SO good.  I had to change it up just a bit cause I did not have a few of the ingredients. Oh yeah, and her picture is a bit more appealing then mine, guess I  don’t have “that touch” with my camara or my stacking-food-ability. Most of the time you are looking at one of my family members plate of food…..or a plate of snacks ready to go out to the kids. Oh, lets not forget this ~  I made up a “cookie dough butter” ~ I know… but trust me, it was good and no need for syrup! OR go the syrup route if  you so choose! Yeilds 8-10 (FILLING) pancakes.

* Be sure that your butter is soft for the cookie dough butter. If it is cold it will look lumpy and unappealing when it is all mixed up.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Pancakes  
1 large banana, mashed
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
3 TB. butter melted
6 TB. milk
3 TB. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. quick cooking oatmeal
1/2 c. flour ( I use 1/4 c. of wheat and 1/4 c. white flour)
1/3 c. mini chocolate chips
Cookie Dough Butter  
1/4 c. soft butter
1 TB. brown sugar
1/2 TB. flour
1/2 tsp. vanilla
(if using unsalted butter then add a pinch of salt, if using salted butter skip salt OR you will have a salt lick!)
Mini Chocolate Chips for garnish…..good excuse…yep, garnish!
Mix together the butter, brown sugar, flour and vanilla for the “cookie dough butter” and set aside.  Mash the banana in a large bowl and add the eggs, vanilla, butter (let it cool a bit 1st) and milk ~ whisk together.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, mix the brown sugar, baking powder, salt, oats, flour and chocolate chips ~ mix and add to the milk mixture.  Mix just a bit, there will be some lumps remaining. Heat your griddle to 350* and grease if necessary, pour batter onto hot  griddle and cook 3-4 minutes till lightly browned, flip and cook another 2-3 minutes till lightly browned.  Serve with a dollop of “Cookie Dough Butter” and additional chocolate chips.  Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from Minamalist Baker.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

