Blueberry Pie

Standard

We are…well, I think we still are…knee deep in blueberry season. Yum. If you get a chance to snag up some blueberries, you might just want to try this pie. IT is addicting JUST to warn you….don’t be shocked if you look down and realize you just ate 1/4 of the pie yourself….. just make sure you have someone with you who is ALSO eating 1/4 of the pie, I did…… I don’t think either of us regretted it either! Thanks to  my sis-in-law Kelly for sharing not only her delicious pie BUT also the recipe!! 🙂 I hope you will enjoy this slice of summer!

* This crust is insanely easy AND insanely good. Use it for other pies too! I have such trouble rolling out crusts, so I LOVE this pat in the pan crust. Just be sure to press it up to the top of your pie plate, else your lovely juicy filling may seep under the crust. (Like my “rustic” crust? Yep, lets call it that….)

* This is good served with whipped whipping cream or cool  whip, but really the flavor is so fantastic that I you don’t have it to serve with it you WILL be fine!!

Blueberry Pie    
1 stick of cold butter
1 c. flour
1 tsp. cold water
4 c. blueberries, divided
2/3 c. water
1 c. sugar
3 TB. cornstarch
1/3 c. water
Cut the butter into the flour, till mixed well ~ add the water, mix. Pat into a pie plate. (Not sure if IT has to be greased with that lovely butter, but I did, just to ensure that the pieces came out nice and lovely.) (I used a 9″ pie plate.) Press flat on the bottom of the pie plate and up the sides.  Bake @ 425* for 10-12 minutes till light golden brown. Cool. Put 1 c. of blueberries in a sauce pan with 2/3 c. water and bring to a boil and simmer 3 minutes. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, mix the 1 c. sugar with the cornstarch, add the 1/3 c. water. Stir this into the hot blueberry mixture AFTER it has boiled for 3 minutes. Bring back to a boil and boil for 1 minute, stirring ALWAYS as it does thicken up quickly. Cool.  Stir in the remaining 3 c. of blueberries and pour into cooled crust and chill.   Enjoy with a dollop of cool whip or just as is.

Thanks to Kelly for a GREAT recipe.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for this recipe , Bobbi, I don’t have a good blueberry pie recipe……now i must try this one…. SOON! I think we will probably put vanilla ice cream on it 😉

Leave a Reply

