BBQ Chicken Kabobs

Standard

Today is generally my “Aldi recipe share day”. I do so enjoy shopping at Aldi ~ GREAT prices and they have mostly everything I need for my weekly grocery shopping! So I really enjoy sharing a recipe here or there that uses an Aldi item or a “special buy” item.  I HOWEVER didn’t have a recipe ready to go that fit with the ad this week. SO I am skipping it this week…..that being said ~ I want to know if this weekly “feature” is a good thing that I should keep up, or is it generally NOT very helpful.  Drop a line letting me know what I should do, please, just curious ~Should I keep up the “hey look whats on sale this week at Aldi!” thing or drop it and or forget the whole Aldi thing and just share a random recipe. (Click here for an example IF you are a new reader and PS, thanks FOR reading!!) Thanks for your help in helping me figure it out 🙂

These days it is really almost too hot to put the oven on, though I still do do it at times ~ I still need to get my baking fix every few days…..BUT it comes in handy to cook dinner on the grill. We had these kabobs not too long ago and we all really enjoyed them! My “men” sure are fans of BBQie stuff so this was right up their alley!

BBQ Chicken Kabobs 
4 TB. oil
3 tsp. vinegar
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. garlic
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. parsley
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. paprika
1/2 c. chili sauce
4 chicken breasts
Combine all the ingredients in a large ziplock bag. Cut the chicken up into 1″ size pieces. Add the chicken to the bag, shake and mix up well,  place in the fridge to marinade for about 30 minutes. Place the chicken on skewers ~ not too tightly packed or you will have trouble cooking it through. Disguard the remaining marinade. Grill 12-15 minutes on lowish heat, turn the skewers a few times to insure that each side it cooked through. If you want more BBQ flavor  you may brush with your favorite BBQ sauce near the end of cooking OR serve with BBQ sauce for dipping. ENJOY.

Recipe from my files, original source unknown, I have made some changes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. I am a new reader and started to follow because you feature Aldi foods and deals! Sooooo please do keep it up when you can! Thanks!

    • Thank you for that!! I will keep it up! Most of my shopping is done at Aldi, so I guess you can say that a lot of my recipes are “Aldi friendly”!! THANKS for reading and following and for your comment!! {I missed last weeks Aldi post and this weeks mostly due to vacationing! I will get back on the saddle for next Wednesday!}

  2. Great timing Bobbi, I was just researching marinades for kabobs! We must be thinking alike 🙂 Question: do you marinade your veggies in anything? Oh, and I personally really like the Aldi sale recipes!

    • Great minds think alike! I should have noted that my veggies are not marinaded in anything THIS time. Just seasoned with some seasoning salt, my husband likes the simplicity of that. If you are looking for a veggie marinade, you could always use Italian dressing, put veggies in a bowl, pour dressing over and let set for 30 minutes or so, then skewer the veggies and grill ~ we like it that way. I like to keep veggies and meat seperate, as shown, veggies take longer to cook then the meat, generally speaking. 🙂 (I have not tried this BBQ marinade on veggies…..I might give it a whirl next time and let everyone know if is is successful or if it turns into a big “opps ~ no good, lets open a can of corn night!”) thanks for reading and for your comment!!

Leave a Reply

